Wander logo

The Summit of Clarity

My venture away from reality.

By Kelsey NiemannPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
Aksla Viewpoint // Ålesund, Norway

This photo was taken at the Mount Aksla outlook in Ålesund, Norway just three days shy of the unknown chaos that was soon taking over our world. There were rumors of the “possibilities” that nations all over the world might endure, but we never really could have imagined what was unfolding as we went about our normal lives. Here I am, spending my day exploring, not a thought crossing my mind about the virus or potential quarantine I found myself in only days later. I never would have guessed this would be the last adventure I would be taking for a long time.

Three weeks prior to this photo I was working and living in Oslo, Norway and I fell ill. I spent four days in the hospital, completely alone, thousands of miles away from my family in the United States. Long story short, I recovered, quit my toxic job, and moved into the home of some friends, all in the span of one week. I felt lost, confused, defeated, and exhausted. Travel has always been an escape for me, so I searched my options and decided to venture somewhere within Norway to get away from everything. Before I even gave it much thought, I booked a plane ticket and a room at an Airbnb and was on my way. Though only a 45 minute flight from where I was living, I felt like I had entered a completely new world. I let all of my stress and worries go the second the plane was in the air and was determined to let myself be in the moment, enjoy where I was at, and enjoy where I was going.

Ålesund lies on the western coast of Norway and is considered an archipelago, situated at the head of Geirangerfjord. It’s an old town, however, it was devastated by a fire and rebuilt in 1904. Aksla viewpoint, where this photo was taken, is one of the top sites in the city and, as you can see, is well worth the visit. The base of viewpoint is conveniently located in the central area of the city and to reach the lookout, you must venture up the 418 stairs built into the mountain. With many places to stop for a break and views from every angle possible, it’s hard to believe this little hike is right in the middle of a bustling city.

As it was early March, the weather was still quite bitter and as with the western coast of Norway always goes, the wind was fierce. I bundled myself up as best I could and began the trek up the stairs. I had not even stopped at my Airbnb, so I had my big backpack still on with everything I had packed for my trip. The weight of the bag was nothing in comparison to the weight of the reality I was trying to shake off. All I knew was that I needed this hike to bring me the calm that nature and the mountains always manage to do.

I stopped many times along the way and just took in my surroundings and breathed in the cool, crisp air. The higher I went, the more grounded and at peace I felt. When I reached the top, I was cold and out of breath, but all I could do was smile. To say it was beautiful is an understatement. I walked all around the area of the viewpoint and just let myself become absorbed in my surroundings. Since the weather was not the most appealing for a venture up a mountain top, there was not another soul in site and I had the whole terrain all to my own; just the escape I was after. I found the ultimate clarity.

Perhaps the world below me was silently sliding into a perilous chaos, but at the top of Mount Aksla, I felt as free as the mountains around me. The cold, nor the wind, could deter me. Ålesund recharged the life in me and was the “restart” my mind and body needed to tackle the reality I would soon be descending upon.

Song: Alesund by Sun Kil Moon

europe
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.