Wander logo

Shalom

Peace, calm, wholeness, completeness and serenity.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
Peace and tranquility in a image,

This is one of many photo’s I took when my family went on a nature hike. We were walking up Catawba mountain, headed to the Cascades water falls, when I noticed something about this particular spot. I did not take a photo right then but waited until we were making our way back down for a very important reason. At the very top of the mountain, in the presence of the water fall you can hear the roaring sound as the liquid pummels down in a never ending stream. You are captivated by the majesty of nature and the handiwork of the Almighty. Even when walking away the water roars as it speeds over rocks and cliffs. This is a beautiful sound but there is one even more special to me.

As you are traveling back down, you observe a change that is not noted on the way up. As you descend the noise level decreases while you walk. By the time you are almost at level ground, things slow down even more and there is sort of silence that I believe is summed up by the Hebrew word, shalom. This is defined as peace and tranquility which is what I experienced at this juncture of the journey. After the thunderous roar of the falls, and the voices of people standing around chatting, this near silence is so unique. The water is no longer rushing furiously over rocks and boulders, but can barely be heard as it now heading to a place where it will practically be still.

There is no more whizzing, rushing, roaring or falling. At this point even the flowing is practically none existent. At this juncture it’s as if time is slowing to a place where it will come to a complete stop. I liken it to experiencing the excitement of the roller coaster, then getting off and walking away. The big thrill is gone but there is a moment of the afterglow when you still feel a spark of enjoyment but things are settling down. At the moment I capture this image the air is still cool and fresh, with a hint of muskiness. The rocks are wet and the ground slightly muddy. It’s a moment of reflection that the water I now see had not that long ago rolled over the cascades falls.

The water that I captured on film, so to speak had tumbled and rolled down the hill to this valley where I take a literal moment of silence to reflect on it all. The power that fueled the water falls has all but diminished here. At the top of Cascades mountain the falling stream was regal and powerful and could knock you to your knees. Now the same water that was moving simultaneously as I was walking has slowed to a crawl. It once was free falling but now is impeded by sticks, rocks, and debris and rolls along slowly. I stand for a while just drinking in the beauty of nature and how amazing the journey of the water has been.

It’s still clear and white even as it travels so far from the falls. The steam just keeps going although at a much slower pace. I think of Tom Petty and imagine the water singing I'm free fallin, along it's journey.When I look at this image now, I’m amazed that a simple IPhone camera captured it’s beauty. As I gaze at the photo I’m transported back in time to when I was actually standing in that spot. I can smell the mountain air and feel the breeze on my back as a mist of rain falls. On my camera phone this was a live shot so the picture actually moves for a few seconds. I think of The Chronicles of Narnia “ The Voyage of the Dawntreader”.

The picture is moving.

Three children are looking at a picture of a boat when it seems to start moving. They can feel the wind and smell the sea salt and in a few moments they realize the photo has come to life, and they are drawn into it. I feel the shalom of that atmosphere each time I gaze at this photograph. It gives me a sense of calm and serenity. Like the children in the CS Lewis tale, it's as if I can experience what I felt when I was in the midst of my journey.The trees and rocks are perfect background scenery to the ebbs and flows of the water as it makes its way down stream. On my Iphone, I captured this image as live, so when I first go to it, there is actually movement for a few moments.

This image helps me relax and recall the splendor of nature, in a place where all the cares of the world fade away. I love how I captured the moment a gentle wind blew just long enough to give the water a bit more movement. These rocks and sticks are the last time the flowing H20 has to even attempt to get over any hurdles because just moments away it all halts. Peace, tranquility, serenity, calmness, and being one with nature truly equals shalom.

nature
1

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.