Wander logo

RV Maintenance to Get Us On the Road Again

My husband is my personal mechanic and I appreciate him

By Brenda MahlerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Image from author's photo album.

Often, I skate through life unaware. It is a great strategy to avoid conflict and drama but sometimes can cause problems. For example, the day I didn’t notice my husband had shaved his mustache he became disgruntled. He kissed me when I walked through the door, and I responded pleasantly. He kissed me again after I put down my purse, and I smiled affectionately. He kissed me a third time and asked about my day. I answered and his smile turned to bewilderment.

His next words were, “I thought you would notice.” This got my attention, not that the kisses didn’t, but in a different way. As I stared at him, I did notice something was different but couldn’t identify what. My puzzled look prompted his frustrated response, “I shaved my mustache.” We had been married 20 years; I had never seen him with a mustache, and when he shaved it, I didn’t notice.

I tried to justify my unmindfulness with scientific research. I told him I am afflicted with prosopagnosia, face blindness. It is a real thing! However, I admit; I am simply oblivious.

My lack of awareness can have a positive impact. It makes life a little easier to tolerate because when I do notice things, my responses can span the range of emotions and like a dog with bone, it is hard for me to let go of something that sparks my passions. So, living in a fog can often be a good thing.

Randy, on the other hand, notices everything without any conscious effort. He knows where my car keys are, where I left my shoes, if I did not turn off the stove, and how long I left the door open with the air conditioning on. I guess you could say we can annoy each other but at the same time offset each other’s imperfections. Well, he mostly makes up for my flaws but sometimes I can calm his active mind.

All that information to explain why Randy accomplishes so much on our RV. I don’t notice stuff, and he is a workaholic.

Two weeks ago we landed at our home in Kuna, Idaho. I welcomed the opportunity to see the grandchildren; he went to work on a list or to-do items that apparently, he had stored in his mental notepad. Things I didn’t realize needed attention or did know could be repaired.

Newly painted metal edging and carpeted steps. Image from author’s photo album.Image from author's photo album.
  • Painted the strip of metal on the step below the door
  • Covered the steps with carpet, important because in the sun they get hot enough to burn Dagney’s paws.
  • Resealed the toilet.
  • Checked oil and fluids
  • Checked tire air pressure
  • Filled water and propane tank
  • Fixed three cupboard latches that were broken. Replacements parts are available on Amazon.
  • Attached the rock shield that protects the car we tow from being chipped by debris. This came with our rig but we hadn’t used it as it needed some cleaning and adjustments so it would fit appropriately on our Mini Cooper.

Image from author's photo album.
  • Washed the RV and waxed it — again. On a sidenote, he also washed the windows with supplies he carries when we travel: bucket, extension pole with two exchangeable heads, a squeegee, and a microfiber window scrubber. He assures me the very best way to clean and eliminate streaks is to use water with a little Dawn dishwashing soap.

In the process, Randy informed me that he thinks the metal awning covers would look better if they were painted black. I responded, “Of course you do.” I expect that to be his next project when we return home. Remember to thank you mechanic.

As we drive away with high expectations of the weeks to come, I am excited because we will be staying at our first Harvest Host camping spot tonight. Stay tuned for a report and review of our experience. It is a golf course, Dalles Country Club, in Oregon.

Read our adventures at RVing in Retirement, a Facebook page sharing our experiences on the road.

Humor

Apparently, There is a Dress Code When Traveling — RVing in Retirement

Tips and Tricks

We Bought a Motorhome for Our Dog

Play and Stay

Golf is a Sophisticated Sport But We Play Anyway

couples travel
Like

About the Creator

Brenda Mahler

Travel

Writing Lessons

Memoirs

Poetry

Books AVAILABLE ON AMAZON.

* Lockers Speak: Voices from America's Youth

* Understanding the Power Not Yet shares Kari’s story following a stroke at 33.

* Live a Satisfying Life By Doing it Doggy Style explains how humans can life to the fullest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.