Wander logo

Pre-Flight RV Checklist

Our RV allows us to soar; my husband keeps us safe

By Brenda MahlerPublished 2 years ago Updated 6 months ago 4 min read
3
My man keeps us safe and has a big heart. No, he did not actually drive with her on lap.

My husband and I wanted to wait until jus the right time to climb in our motorhome and drive away. I simply didn’t realize Randy and I defined “right time” so drastically different.

I figured after our 2 weeks in Hawaii, we only needed to spend a couple of days with the kids, and we could take off again. I threw in some food and clothes, climbed in and said, “I’m ready. When are we leaving?”

Apparently, there is more to the departing process. Unbeknownst to me, Randy crafted a mental list, divided into categories of everything he should do, can do and might do before our journey began. After 40 years of marriage, I knew in his perfectionist mind, all items on the list piled into the must do category.

Once I understood we wouldn’t be going anywhere soon, I filled the social calendar: dinner with friends, babysitting the grandchildren, meeting friends for coffee, and the list grew with every exciting idea I could think of. When I slowed down enough to notice, Randy had a disgruntled look on his face and was silently flashing that look at me. Of course, I asked if something was wrong and boy, did I get an answer!

In an annoyed, I love you tone, he responded, “I enjoy spending time with everyone, but if you want to hit the road, I have to have some time to get stuff done.” In my mind, I couldn’t comprehend how much he had on the list. He had two hours every morning and there was time yesterday before we left to the movies. Innocently, I asked what he had to do and if there was anything I could do.

This is the list as it developed – already categorized and organized.

Check the fluid/gas/air levels

  • Oil - The rig needed an oil change and new filters
  • Transmission coolant
  • Washer fluid – Upon inspection he discovered the blades were cracked from sitting in the sun, so replacements were required.
  • Propane
  • Gas
  • Tire Pressure - Now this did become time intensive. When he checked the pressure with the tire gauge, the inside right was flat. He hit it with a hammer and determined there was no air at all requiring a trip to the tire store where they discovered the inner dual tire’s valve stem extender was leaking. Be sure to check this because they reported it is a common problem.

Maintenance and safety checks

  • Charge batteries
  • Plug refrigerator/freezer to make sure it cools satisfactorily – He informed me that sometimes they run low on freon.
  • Check the expiration on the fire extinguisher – We bought two new ones
  • Change water filters – Who knew we even had water filters?
  • Assess amount of chemicals for toilet usage and purchase one ply toilet paper

Pack tools and maintenance supplies

  • Plier set
  • Screwdriver set
  • Socket set
  • Shop coat
  • Voltmeter
  • Tire pressure gauge
  • Hammer
  • Flashlight
  • Electrical and duct tape
  • Zip ties
  • WD-40
  • Extension cord
  • Extra oil and coolant

Cleaning products

Did I mention my husband is a perfectionist? He never sits still and notices everything. Though it can be annoying, it is reassuring that he is keeping us safe and comfortable. Since he seldom actually sits still, it is essential to have the items available to keep his hands busy. That’s were the cleaning products enter.

I always find it humorous when RV parks request a picture of our motorhome before booking a reservation since our rig is 2005. Our RV is pristine. He waxes it for fun. He has removed ever piece and spray painted it, so it looks updated. The windows are clear, the tires are washed, and the chrome shines.

  • Window cleaner
  • Wax
  • Tire cleaner
  • Wash mitt
  • Bucket – Yep, he brings his own
  • Water hose

I don’t know what else he has stored away but I appreciate his hard work.

All stories are also available on Vocal Media.

In case you didn’t know, Vocal Media is an online publication that is free to read and available to anyone with a computer.

Happy and safe travels to all.

_______________________________________________

travel gear
3

About the Creator

Brenda Mahler

Travel

Writing Lessons

Memoirs

Poetry

Books AVAILABLE ON AMAZON.

* Lockers Speak: Voices from America's Youth

* Understanding the Power Not Yet shares Kari’s story following a stroke at 33.

* Live a Satisfying Life By Doing it Doggy Style explains how humans can life to the fullest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.