Wander logo

Painted Rocks Make Local Parks More Fun

Arlington Rocks, Mansfield Rocks, and Burleson Rocks

By Tricia HPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
I saw this rock in a Mansfield park.

One of my favorite things about living in Arlington (Texas) is the many parks, all of which are pet-friendly. I spend a lot of time walking my dog and taking photos in parks, not just in Arlington, but also in nearby Mansfield.

The parks are pretty nice on their own, offering nature, photo opportunities, and exercise, but to make them even better, in the last few years, they’ve become home to local artist hide-and-seekers.

It was a couple years ago that I began noticing painted rocks appearing in the parks. A rock might be tucked into the crook of a tree, or in plain sight on a tree stump, or at the base of a pole or post. I didn’t know why they were there, but I enjoyed looking at them, and even got to the point where I’d always be kind of looking out of the corner of my eye for them.

Turns out it’s this whole “thing,” the thing being Arlington Rocks, Mansfield Rocks, and even Burleson Rocks, although I’ve never seen a Burleson Rocks rock, but only because I’ve never been to a park in Burleson. The concept of painting and placing rocks in parks was designed to bring a little extra happiness and fun to the park experience. Each of these groups has a Facebook page documenting the rock, its history, and its travels. Here’s how it works.

People paint rocks and then “hide” them in the parks. If and when you find a rock, you have a couple options: you can keep it, you can leave it in place, or you can rehide it, but not before you take a picture of it, and post it on the appropriate Facebook page telling everyone when and where you found it, and its new status (i.e., if you kept it, left it, or rehid it).

Fun, right?

Having seen quite a few of these hidden rocks, I can say with authority that the groups’ mission of bringing happiness is a success. Every time I’ve found one there’s a wonderful feeling of surprise, followed by a little thrill. When I first saw the rocks, I didn’t know I was “allowed” to take or move them (I’m a big rule-follower), so I simply enjoyed them from a distance.

A found rock, left in place.

After finding out that I could touch and move them, I have taken advantage and done my part to keep the game alive, although I’ve never kept a rock, only rehidden for someone else to find.

The level of artistry on the rocks differs greatly; some of the paint jobs are absolutely amazing, complicated and colorful, while others are more simple with less detail (this is the kind of rock I’ll make, since I have very little painting ability). But it’s not about the image on the rock so much, it’s about the thrill of the hunt, the excitement of finding one, and the smile it brings to your face.

Anyone can paint and hide a rock. Having been on the receiving end of painted rocks, I of course, want to be on the giving side as well. There’s a lot to consider in picking a rock: how smooth it is, the area of the surface you’ll be putting your picture on, overall size (is it big enough to be seen yet small enough to hide?). It took me a while to find a good rock, but at long last I have. In fact, I’ve had it for more than a week already.

I think I’m a little afraid of painting it, or maybe I’m just waiting for inspiration for the perfect image or message. It’s important stuff, this painting of rocks, and I want to make the most of the opportunity. Not being much of an artist, my rock will have to feature something other than an image, so I’m thinking maybe a quote, or just a word or two. I still haven’t decided.

My test rock, placed in Arlington.

And of course, I need to have the right kind of paint. What is the right kind of paint? Watercolor won’t work, because even if it went on the rock, the first rainfall would erase it. I found some glitter glue in my craft box and I tested it out on this little rock. It went on easily, but I don’t know if it will last. I’ll find out because just the other day, I hid my rock at a park in Arlington. Of course, I may not find out, because someone may find my rock and move it, but if that happens, I’ll be happy, and not knowing won’t be an issue.

I still have my big rock, so far unpainted and unadorned, so I have another opportunity to bring a smile to someone’s face. I’ll get it figured out. In the meantime, I’m keeping my eyes open for other people’s rocks.

The next time you’re in a park in Arlington, Mansfield, or Burleson, keep your eyes open because Arlington Rocks, Mansfield Rocks, and Burleson Rocks.

activities
Like

About the Creator

Tricia H

Dog mom, Texan, amateur photographer,crafter, reader, writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.