Wander logo

One Day, I Decided to Believe In My Dreams

How My Travel Got Started

By Milena VasakPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I've always dreamed of traveling. I have always loved reading and watching movies. I was watching all of these extraordinary landscapes. I had this globe in my room and I turned it every day to know where I would go in my life.

Dêda, my Czech grandfather was a great traveler. He often told me that he had traveled around the world for his work. He worked in human rights and always had incredible stories to tell. My father also travels, always for short periods of time, but sometimes he goes to the end of the world for his job as a producer.

And then, my mother was passionate about Buddhism, Hinduism, wisdom, and color. She spoke to me about India with such passion. She dreamed of going there and passed on her dream to me. From an early age, I dreamed of discovering this culture that seemed so different from mine.

I was fine in Paris, I had my parents, my friends. I was studying and living not too badly. But as the years went by, I felt like I was rushing into my comfort zone. I wanted to travel and I knew that the sooner I took the plunge, the sooner everything would happen.

I stopped my studies in math physics two years ago because I wanted a job in the humanities, I wanted to discover the world and be close to humanity. Then I started yoga, and the dream of going to India grew more and more in my head and in my heart.

And then one day in early 2018, I decided that it was time. I had four jobs to pay for my trip and I bought my ticket. I was planning to go to India, alone, for 50 days.

Then, I applied for the Modo Yoga teacher training in Montreal and I knew I was selected just before I went to India. Now I was planning to go to Montreal on September 20th for the training.

I left for India on April 29th, 2018. I had this shock I expected... I was amazed and shocked. I decided very quickly to stay in India until September and only to return to Montreal.

I quickly developed a taste for travel and independence, for freedom. I was far from the Parisian tensions, far from the family tensions and how good it felt for me. I had the feeling that for the first time in my life I was fully following my intuition without wondering if this or that person would approve of my choice.

I returned to Paris in November after two months in Canada. At that moment I was really happy to get home. After these eight months of travel and intensive training, I had only one desire: to find comfort and my loved ones.

The Parisian routine quickly resumed its course and I think that the famous one no longer suited me, at least not for the moment.

I have often heard that travel is like a "virus": you get stung and you don't want to stop. After going to Asia and Canada alone, I was thinking even bigger and thought, "Why not go to the other side of the world this time?"

This sentence I said to myself at the end of January, after a few days of reflection where I was looking for a solution. I may have had my job as a yoga teacher in my studio that I love, and I may have been close to everything in a city that I love, I didn't blossom at all in Paris.

Some things made me feel out of place and I think that in life we have two choices when we are not well: longing for our fate and waiting for a miracle to happen or acting.

The philosophy of yoga has taught me to always act rather than wait and run. I often look for solutions to problems and I think that the obstacles are there to test us and that life will be even better once these obstacles are overcome.

At the end of January, my intuition tells me to leave and I choose Australia. The next day I had my ticket, three weeks later I was in Sydney on my work holiday visa.

I will do more detailed articles on my travels and other things. Feel free to write to me for any recommendations, criticisms, advice or if you want a particular article!

See you soon somewhere on this planet!

Milena

solo travel
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.