Wander logo

Never Be Bored on a Road Trip Again - RVing in Retirement

Thanks to RVers who shared

By Brenda MahlerPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Never Be Bored on a Road Trip Again - RVing in Retirement
Photo by averie woodard on Unsplash

A while back I shared an article titled Why Does the Road Curve in the Desert? I asked readers to share how they spend their time when traveling long distances. The responses were creative, humorous, and inspiring. Below I share some of the responses and provide links for further investigation.

Observation

Last year I took picture of trees and how they differed. I find the library fascinating to browse.

  • Many travelers not only look out the window but take photos. This is a great way to record memories.
  • Watch wildlife and scenery
  • Bird viewing
  • Pictures of trees and how they change in their environment

Music

  • Singing was quite popular. I loved the comment from the lady who said she sings even though her husband and children complain. Keep singing!
  • A driver said he sings 99 Bottles of Beer on the Wall. This activated my PTSD and brought back memories of road trips chaperoning high school students but whatever works for each person works for me. I just don't want to be in his car.
  • One family traveled Route 66 and each time they crossed a state line they learned and sang the state song. Great educational activity.

50 State Songs.com There are 49 official state songs that have been voted in by each state’s local government as the official song. There are a few states that actually have multiple songs too. The style of the song varies from state to state. Some sound like catchy anthems and some are just songs that celebrate the state.

Visitors to this site will find the following list and hyperlinks provide musical presentations and the lyrics.

Picture from 50 State Songs.org

Reading

Words are consumed in multiple ways.

  • Podcasts
  • Audible books
  • Actual books with pages – easily accessible in any antique store, second hand story or your local library.
  • Books on devices such as a kindle.
  • Dot Jones, one of our own, shared her book, Journeys with Jim. It is available on Amazon. If you have a Kindle, it’s free.
  • Also, a little self-promotion, I write and publish in numerous places. I would love to share stories if you visit my blog.

Genealogy

Though I have little experience in this area, my daughter shared several free apps to help with the process. Just by signing up quality and accurate information is readily available. Check it out.

Working

It was surprising to learn so many people work on the road. With a laptop and a hotspot an office is no longer needed. Employees are working in the passenger’s seat and then enjoy the evening in a new place each night.

Crafts

A friend passes the time by knitting socks. She gifted these to my husband and me for Christmas.

I’ve decided crafters have kind hearts. So many share the products of their skills with others. They are a blessing.

  • Crochet. One kind lady sewed for Knots of love and donated her work.
  • Knit. More acts of kindness were shared by travelers: stitch squares for puppy refuge, hats for newborns
  • Scrapbooking
  • Recently, I have started embroidering - easy and rewarding.

Number Activities

By Holly Mandarich on Unsplash

People seemed to like numbers and must be really bored. Sorry, numbers scar me. However, anything that motivates the mind kills time.

  • Count chickens that cross the road
  • Count roadrunners
  • Count horses and when we see a cow start over
  • When all else fails play Sudoku

Games

By Ross Sneddon on Unsplash

Computer games were mentioned as people play on phones, tablets, and computers. Several other games sounded like great alternatives to consider but apps are available if interested.

  • Trivia
  • Name that Tune using songs from the radio
  • Compete to find license plates from different places. I downloaded the app PL8 Spot and love playing it on my phone.
  • Crossword puzzles
  • Alphabet game using billboards and road signs
  • Learn the badges of every car company. If this sounds interesting, check out the app, Car Logo Quiz 2020.
  • One readers shared bingo cards for travelers. They looked fun.

Ham radio is a category all its own

Thanks to the traveler who shared, “I will post a video. Ham radio is the ultimate communication. Used for emergency when there is no other venue. I been in the hobby for over 20 years. Made contact all over the world. You can start very simply with a small mobile radio and antenna for less the 300 for everything. Or less if you look around. It's a great hobby. There are few RV ham radio groups here on FB.

http://www.arrl.org/getting-licensed

And a book to get started

http://www.arrl.org/.../shop/Ham-Radio-License-Manual

Tell jokes

Dad jokes tend to be favorites. Often, they often provide opportunities to learn new vocabulary and teach puns. But always, they provide laughter and groans. This site offers some to print and use during a trip or just read from your phone.

80 Dad Jokes That Are Actually Pretty Funny

When my kids were young, we had a riddle book that we would spend hours investigating.

Research and navigation

Readers shared numerous strategies to reseach and explore. Smart phones offer many apps specific to areas. Some people enjoyed books and paper maps while others used the internet. What I discovered is that we can drive past some amazing opportunities without realizing they are near if we don't investigate.

  • Accommodations
  • Attractions
  • Road conditions
  • Plan itinerary
  • “Tell my husband where to go.”

Geocaching

This is what a map looks like on the ap when a person is geocaching.

I knew nothing about this activity but after several readers shared their experiences, I began investigating. It is definitely not practical to geocach along the highway in a 40 foot rig - as my husband pointedly announced when I asked him to stop.

However, my granddaughter loves to go with me as shared in this article, My Granddaughter took me Treasure Hunting and Pirate Chasing. My husband and I also enjoy a good hunt when we walking and exploring a new area.

Writing

  • Books
  • Journals
  • Letters are an old-fashioned activity but there is nothing as wonderful as getting mail from a love one. Pack stamps and envelops, and you are prepared to make someone happy.
  • I write stories about our adventures and post them on my FB page RVing in Retirement. Join the group if you enjoy reading.

Book folding

Website of photo

  • This was the most fascinating suggestion shared. If you have never seen this done or a finished product, click the link for images. I have moved this to the top of my list of skills I want to learn. Images of book folding

____________________________________________________

While my husband drives, I write. We invite you to subscribe to our adventures.

SUBSCRIBE

family travel
Like

About the Creator

Brenda Mahler

Travel

Writing Lessons

Memoirs

Poetry

Books AVAILABLE ON AMAZON.

* Lockers Speak: Voices from America's Youth

* Understanding the Power Not Yet shares Kari’s story following a stroke at 33.

* Live a Satisfying Life By Doing it Doggy Style explains how humans can life to the fullest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.