Wander logo

Midnight motion

The sounds and sights in the darkness can be very enlightening.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

It’s a Wednesday night and I’m tossing and turning in bed. I cannot concentrate to continue reading my book and there is nothing on television that interests me. I try unsuccessfully to fall asleep and I can’t sleep. It’s a few moments before 11:30 PM and in my frustration I make a decision. It’s not one I make lightly but I put on some clothes. I debate whether I should walk or drive, but I know I am going out. I’ve decided to go to the store as I’ve done many other times. My family does not like it, but heading out near midnight whether driving or walking is my therapy. I guess you could say I’m a midnight owl.

When I get a certain feeling that I’ll be safe, I trust my gut instinct and off I go. A few times my spouse has said he did not think it a good idea for me to go out on a midnight run like Paul Reviere. I listened to him on every occasion but on this night, my husband and visiting grandchildren are in deep sleep so I make my own decision. It feels great to be sneaking out without anyone knowing about it. I ease out the back door.and head to the convenience store that is about 3 blocks away as it is open until midnight. I need fresh air so I walk instead of driving.

I round the corner into the front yard then cross the street. My house is the only one on the block that has a light on. I walk down the hill taking note of an empty home where a street light illuminates a cat who is running across the porch. His feet are making a scratching sound as he scurries around. He is a yellow tabby who frequents the neighborhood and is fed by everyone. I call "Here Kitty kitty" and he begins walking towards me but stops just a few feet away. He meows several times but just as I bend to pet him, he runs away.

A soft wind blows just enough to rattle a piece of loose tin on the roof of the old house as I resume walking.. I look up and I am amazed at the clarity of the constellations and I see the Little Dipper in the light of a bright crescent moon. It’s chilly and I wish I had worn a jacket. I get the faint whiff of the scent of burning wood. I realize someone in the neighborhood of older homes is still heating their house with a wood stove or using a fireplace. I did not even know such things were still legal in the city. As I near the intersection of the 4 lane main street, I am surprised to see several cars driving by this late at night. The smell of exhaust assaults my nostrils and I jump when one vehicle roars by with loud music vibrating everything in sight.

I look to the left, the right, and behind me and realize I’m all alone n my journey. Once I cross the 4 lanes I’m in front of a building that used to be a firehouse. I see 2 men walking in my direction but I’m not afraid. They speak and I return the greeting as I cross the side street to get to the store. There are 5 cars in the parking lot and quite a few people inside the building. I purchase some cashew nuts and then I’m back out the door. I see a man walking away from me to my left and a man and woman heading towards me on my right. A dog barks in the distance and cigarette smoke irritates my eyes .

When I am about half a block from home I pass a house on my right with several trees in the back yard. I hear a rustling and assume it’s the many squirrels that invade the area. During the day they can be seen climbing trees, roofs, sides of homes and walking across electric wires. I then hear a sound that is familiar and wonder why an owl is screeching this time of the night? My husband and I were had been hearing an owl for a few weeks, but always during the day. I vaguely recall him saying most owls are nocturnal and I realize this barn owl is doing what he is suppose to do.

I laugh as I make my way back to the house and think to myself, "There really are midnight owls." I enter my home and my husband and grandchildren are still asleep. They have no idea I have even left the house. I think of the crime shows where people disappear without a trace and realize how fortunate I have been. I did not get shot, robbed, kidnapped or asssulted. I put on my night gown climb in bed and snuggle against my spouse. It’s warm and ai ferl safe. I’ll save the cashews for the morning.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.