Wander logo

I just want to get on the train and ride

My first action after the pandemic is get on board and enjoy myself.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
Amtrak train

The group Lower Than Life has a song titled Here we go. One line says:

Now, we're raging on like a locomotive

Shout, we're coming through

We're heading for ya

(We're coming, we're coming)

We are above all of the commotion

We are on track so get back behind us

This describes how I want to feel once everything is back up and running. When the pandemic is over the first thing I want to do is ride the Amtrack train. I desire for everyone and every situation to get back because I’m coming. I’m gonna shout as I go through headed to my destination. I’m going to enjoy the ride and be above all the commotion. There is a reason I’m so excited about a train ride. It’s because it has been a long time coming.

There has not been a passenger train in my neck of the woods for about 40 years. As I heard news about Amtrak I hoped it would eventually be in my city. There was talk but no action taken. Three years ago, however, Amtrak arrived in Lynchburg Va. This a city which is about 45 miles from Roanoke where I live and takes close to an hour to get there. Travelers from my neck of the woods had to drive to Lynchburg or park their vehicle in downtown Roanoke and ride what is called a Smartway bus. I didn’t like that idea at all but rumors of Amtrak coming to the Star City of the south began again. This service was finally made available in my city last year and I was so excited.

Statue of Liberty

My husband and I agreed we would ride the train to New York on our wedding anniversary this past April but the coronavirus got in the way. When all systems are go we want to be the first standing in line with our tickets. We would leave early morning, perhaps around 6:00 AM. I would quickly take my seat and be eager to enjoy the view of the country side as we travel. I absolutely love how the seats face directly out the window and I will eagerly drink in the sight. I have been on a train ride so this would truly be exciting. New York is the place of destination but if I could I would just ride the train to its last stop and back home again because the train ride is what’s important to me.

Amtrak view

Amtrak offers traditional dining service which is provided in the Dining Car on certain trains, serving both breakfast and lunch with many entre selection. They have seasonal menu’s and a wide variety of drinks. I’m not a heavy drinker but since I would not be driving I might try a spirit or two that I’ve never had before. Simple pleasures thrill me and I would make the most of every moment. After enjoying breakfast I would probably take a mid morning nap. I would be sure to wake up before lunch so I can partake of that meal and enjoy the peace of not having to cook or drive. For the rest of the ride I would drink in the scenery until we reached the Big Apple. I don’t have an itinerary for New York but my first destination would have to be 34th street.

34th Street

Ever since I first saw the Christmas movie Miracle on 34th Street, I have always wanted to stand on that corner and have a photo taken. Once that’s been taken care of my next stop would be to stroll through Central Park and take more pictures. We would then make our way to the Statue of Liberty. If not in walking distance I would call Uber. I was told there is an elevator inside of Lady Liberty so we would ride to the top and soak in the grand scenery. Next on the list is shopping. I would go to the stores on Fifth Ave that are not in my hometown and shop till I drop. I would purchase gifts for my 3 children and 3 grandchildren but not so much I couldn’t carry. I don’t mind walking but if my husband gets tired we might have to call an Uber again.

Fifth Avenue

We would make time for a late afternoon meal if there is time prior to boarding the train again. I hope the weather would permit eating at an outside venue. By then it would probably be time to head for home. We would make our way back to the train station and get on board. More than likely we would get some sleep on the way home. If there are any drinks or snacks available I surely would take advantage of them and before you know it we would be back safely in our home town. That’s my goal for when things are up and running again.

couples travel
1

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.