Wander logo

How Thailand Helped Me Recover from My 13 Year Failed Relationship

Part 1—Why Thailand?

By Mia ManPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

My first solo trip was in 2014. I traveled for four months around Thailand (and some other south Asia countries). I had recently ended a 13 year turbulent relationship. I had tons of questions and only a few answers.

Why did I choose Thailand?

I Struggled for ages trying to believe my ex-husband somehow was good for me. I tried to look at his unfaithful behavior as a minor problem. But I always knew what he was doing. The times I confronted him, he would make me believe I was hallucinating. For many years I thought I was crazy.

He was my first love, and I didn’t want to accept the fact I was wrong for all those years. By the end, I was paranoid and depressed and feeling like I was wasting my youth, living a lie for so long.

All I need is a fresh start.

The urge to be as distant as I could from all the drama to reconnect with myself was growing as I wished to be closer to my spiritual side. It sounds a lot like a version of Eat, Pray, and Love. I know! And maybe I was a little inspired by that book— not by the part about love, though. I was looking to be as far as possible of any romantic scene.

I was craving to do something extraordinary that would give meaning to my life. Thailand and the possibility to immerse into the Buddhist culture was the only thing I could think about. Stay surrounded by all nature, the sun, and the turquoise ocean was definitely a dream. I am fascinated by the Asian culture, and Thailand would be perfect for the start of my journey.

Many people tried to stop me. It is too dangerous for a girl to travel by herself in a country like that. And also it is too expensive. I was getting a divorce and would need money to rebuild my life. I didn’t have much.

I agree with some aspects of it being dangerous and I will talk more about that on a suitable occasion. About the financial issue, I realized I would have to spend all my savings on therapy if I stayed.

I am shy and always had difficulty interacting with people. I saw this trip as a huge challenge, and a unique opportunity to overcome my weakness. I was forcing myself to get out of my shell. And be away from my home, in a harrowing moment was my way of understanding what I need to do next.

Phuket

The desire to heal other women who where going through a similar situation was my major impulse. The amazingness of that place forced me to reformulate all my beliefs. I saw and did things I would never experience if I had stayed at home crying.

I did cry, though. The difference was that I was in a much better place. I was drinking Mai Tais, getting a spectacular tan, and looking at the most wonderful combination of the blue and green waters. It wasn't until the day I realized there was nothing more to be sad about, I was ready to go back home as a brand new version of myself with the conviction that I had made the most assertive decision of my life.

I couldn’t be more grateful for all I lived there. The temples, the beaches, and the people all synchronized in perfect harmony to make each moment singular and special.

I hope to be able to inspire people to have their own adventures. Sometimes all we need is an incentive and a bit of encouragement to set free our wanderlust spirit.

solo travel
Like

About the Creator

Mia Man

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.