Wander logo

How my home country became my favourite holiday destination

I have noticed that my home country has begun to feel more like an amazing holiday than my home. As I tend to not stay in place for too long, I want to talk to you about how my lack of identity has shaped me as a person.

By People! Just say Something!Published 3 years ago 4 min read
1

I have found myself in a strange situation where it doesn’t feel like ‘home’ anymore whenever I return to my home country. It does bring back fond memories, and I enjoy my visit every time I go; however, something seems to be missing. As I grow older and experience more of life in a foreign culture, my identity changes and my birth country slowly become my favourite holiday destination. Let me explain.

My Country

Chełmno, Poland

I was born in Chełmno, a small town in Poland, a central European country that borders Germany in the west, Czechia and Slovakia in the south, Ukraine and Belarus in the east, and Lithuania and Kaliningrad (Russia) in the north. This gorgeous country homed me for the first years of my life before my parents, and I moved to the north of England after Poland joined the European Union. I am in a position where half of my family is in the United Kingdom while the other stayed in Poland, meaning returning home is extremely easy. We stay with family and stay at their homes to save costs and spend the most time as possible in their company. We tend to visit Poland at least once a year, and with it, I could see how my interactions change with my home.

Scarborough, North Yorkshire, UK

The way I presented myself soon did not reflect the typical Pole in the street. My Polish became a little rough, and people began telling me how much I have changed and brought my differences to light. I do not have a problem with this; however, it does make me think if I even identify myself to the country that did not raise me or make me the person I am today. Strangely, I wouldn’t refer to myself as a Brit nor an Englishman. I have a slight connection to Yorkshire, the county in the north of England that I lived in for most of my life, and I see myself as a northerner inside and out, so there is some cultural connection there. However, there is one geographical identity I am proud to be: I am a European.

A European

My National Flag

I try to avoid going into politics in our blogs, and the topic of Brexit is a mine zone here in the UK, but I will admit that I hold national pride in being a European. I love each country that aims to unite its neighbours and share its history, resources, and people. If we are to move forward, we ought to do it together. To see the United Kingdom leave was heartbreaking. Despite my settled status, which refers to living in the UK regardless of my nationality, I feel disconnected from the mainland, and Poland has become that much further away. I can return whenever I wish, and my travel between the UK and mainland Europe is barely affected, but still, it feels quieter here in the UK. This tiny island is now alone, so it’s become very domestically focused. It’s solidifying that no matter how long I have lived in the UK, Europe is my home, and despite Brexit and not being in the European Union, the UK is inside the continent of Europe.

Europish: A new identity

I am happy to say that I have travelled across Europe and absorbed its culture as I went. I am glad to say that I have been raised in so many different countries by some fantastic people. Travelling is in my blood, and I hold no remorse towards Poland. I am sure that I will someday return for a substantial time and allow it to shape the next piece of the puzzle that is me. I also love the UK and what it has allowed me to pursue, and how it has supported me in my adolescence. I am still young and taking in the world like a sponge, so who knows how I will turn out in the coming years. One thing is for sure; I am bound to blog about it!

Remember, if all else fails, just say something!

Thank you for taking the time to read our blog! If you enjoyed the content or learnt something along the way, please consider leaving a ‘<3’ below! We would appreciate it if you could leave a small tip to support us in our mission to provide free, weekly infotainment for you to enjoy!

If you wish to begin your Vocal journey, join the Vocal+ programme to get more for your work! Earn more per view, withdraw your profits quicker, and gain access to Vocal+ Challenges with prizes to be won every week!

Use the link below and begin your Blogging career today!

https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=dawid

You’re the reason we can continue doing what we love and making all of this possible. We are forever grateful for your support!

- The People!JSS! Team

culture
1

About the Creator

People! Just say Something!

Quirky Writing created by Artistic Creativity and the power of AI with the goal of learning something new every day!

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PeopleJSS

Twitter: https://twitter.com/PeopleJSS

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.