Wander logo

Breaking The Glass Wall, part 2: Lust for Wanderlust

Dreaming up my ideal post-quarantine vacation.

By Jaye Ruggiero-CashPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
11
Breaking The Glass Wall, part 2: Lust for Wanderlust
Photo by Anthony DELANOIX on Unsplash

I’m a Sagittarius; wanderlust is part of who I am. And if traveling were free, you’d never see me around.

What’s funny is, I’m a hardcore homebody (and possibly a part-time hermit?), and being stuck in the house for this long actually hasn’t bothered me that much. But at the same time I also don’t like being stuck in the same place for too long. (I’m like a walking paradox. It’s weird.)

But as soon as this is all over, I wanna just get out of here and not come back for a while.

I wanna go explore the world. See famous monuments. Go to museums. Try new foods. Experience other cultures firsthand. Sit on a beach somewhere, soak up the sun and swim around in the ocean and have my only care in the world be not getting too sunburnt.

And I’ve been planning an epic post-quarantine vacation for myself (in my head, of course).

Lately I’ve been seeing a lot of sponsored social media posts from EF Ultimate Break and WanderFit Retreats, and looking at everything they have to offer has been giving me all the vacation inspo.

If you’re like me and you prefer guided trips, these groups are both perfect to take a vacation through. Pretty much everything is included and pre-arranged, and you won't be alone in another country trying to get around and find things to do. Because the last thing anyone needs after this quarantine is over is to be driven crazy (again) trying to organize a vacation.

WanderFit Retreats is all about active vacations packed with all kinds of fitness-related activities.

They have trips available in Bali, Portugal, and Costa Rica. And they’re full of beach workouts, water sports, yoga, hiking, sightseeing, and tons of other fun stuff.

They even have a Ladies’ Retreat in Bali! This one also includes some personal development activities, and a shopping day!

EF Ultimate Break has lots of different trips all over the world, like Ultimate Europe, Ultimate Italy, Ultimate Greek Islands, Grand Tour of Ireland, Highlights of Japan & China, and even an Ultimate World trip!

If I could have my ideal vacation, I’d take EF’s Ultimate Europe trip, and then follow it up with a WanderFit retreat in Bali.

Ultimate Europe consists of 35 days across 15 cities: Madrid, Barcelona, Paris, London, Amsterdam, Dresden, Prague, Munich, Lucerne/Swiss Alps, Venice, Florence, Rome, Vatican City, Athens, and Naxos.

And as I’m putting this vacation together in my head, I imagine it would look something like this:

In a way, I feel like I belong out in Europe. There’s so much art, history, and culture to be experienced in every European country, especially as an artist. I've wanted for so long to be able to see places and things I’ve learned about in school for years with my own eyes, like Versailles...

By Stephanie LeBlanc on Unsplash

… and the Sistine Chapel…

By Yeo Khee on Unsplash

… and Notre Dame Cathedral.

By Rohan Reddy on Unsplash

I wanna visit famous monuments like Big Ben…

By Marcin Nowak on Unsplash

… and the Eiffel Tower…

By Carissa Gan on Unsplash

… and the Roman Colosseum.

By David Libeert on Unsplash

I wanna go to museums, like the Louvre…

By Alex Holyoake on Unsplash

… take a pasta-making class in Rome…

By Lindsay Lenard on Unsplash

… explore the Swiss Alps, and eat some Swiss chocolate…

… throw a coin in the Trevi Fountain…

By James Lee on Unsplash

… sit on a beach in Greece…

By Cosmos Drone Pilot on Unsplash

… and see a show at the Royal Opera House!

By Gabriel Varaljay on Unsplash

And after all that, I’ll hop on a plane to Bali for a whole different kind of vacation.

By Lrns on Unsplash

First off, imma be chillin by the ocean. There’s something about the ocean that’s just so soothing to me. It’s like it just washes away all my troubles.

But I’m eager to take a vacation that centers on fitness (I’m working on my bikini body now!).

I plan on doing plenty of yoga…

By kike vega on Unsplash

… work out on the beach…

By Inspired Horizons Digital Marketing on Unsplash

… snorkel with Manta Rays…

By Daniel Bettech on Unsplash

… go whitewater rafting…

… take a surf lesson…

By Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

… see some cool temples…

By Aron Visuals on Unsplash

… and hit up the spa, and definitely get a massage. Or a few.

And all while I’m vacationing, I’d love to have as many of my friends as possible with me, but I also wanna meet new people and make new friends, because traveling is always better when you’re surrounded by great people!

Not sure if this dream vacation will happen anytime soon, but until then I’ll keep dreaming!

europe
11

About the Creator

Jaye Ruggiero-Cash

Writer | Poet | Musician | Actor | Model

Lover of all things arts & humanities

Gluten-Free Foodie

"When we are shaped by the sounds and shades of truth, the colors never fade."

Join Vocal+ with my link

Follow Me!

Instagram

TikTok

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.