Viva logo

Things to remember, tattooed on my body (Part One)

Every one of my tattoos tells a story to remind me of ...

By Jule JessenbergerPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Photo by Silvijami

"Are you sure you want a tattoo? That's gonna stay on your body forever!" - "Only criminals have tattoos." - "That wouldn't look very feminine."

That's what I heard when I was growing up about tattoos. Only "criminal" people or men would be tattooed. If a woman had one, she'd be a rebel, someone who isn't feminine anymore. My grandparents also told me that the ink is poisonous and it would destroy my skin.

"Just imagine how "ugly" it would look when you're old and wrinkly?"

But spoiler alert!

It isn't poisonous. It isn't a curse. It doesn't make me any less feminine. It might make me a rebel but I've always been one.

My tattoos are part of me, of my personality and my values. They each represent parts of me and tell my story.

My tattoos inspire me daily because they remind me WHO I AM.

Photo by Silvijami

Remember: Own being a strong and independent woman!

When I was about 25 years old, I got my first tattoo. I've always wanted one but I also knew that I wanted it to be special. I wanted it to be something that would mean something.

So, when I finally found the first motive I knew I needed to ink it on my body:

A symbolised "Wonder Woman"-Eagle that spreads its wings on my back between my shoulders.

When I showed this motive to the tattoo artist her reply was following:

"That's a really heavy looking and manly tattoo for a girl on the back. Don't you want a more filigree one instead?"

No, I want this! And I want it on my back.

I don't care if it's not "filigree" enough for a woman like me. Or if it doesn't appeal to you personally. For me, it's perfect. Because of what it tells me and what kind of feeling it gives me.

Why Wonder Woman?

Everyone who knows me, knows that I'm a huge Wonder Woman fan. I have mugs, comics, shirts, and all the other sneaky merchandise. I basically put all her grace and power onto me and force people to see it. Often this will make others to refer to me as "Wonder Woman" or they think of me whenever they see something about Wonder Woman.

Yeah, I basically connected Wonder Woman with me in the brains of my friends and work mates. Super sneaky, I know. Muhahaha ....

But being a big-ass fan and admirer of her wasn't the only reason for me to get her symbols on my back. It's more about what she represents:

Wonder Woman is a warrior who fights for love, justice, and truth.

She's strong and independent but she also cherishes her friends and family. Sisterhood means the most to her and she would die for her sisters or to protect others.

She radiates confidence and strength. She would never back down or make herself small. Not for anyone. She stays true to herself and always tries to do the right thing. Even though it's hard, she believes in love, herself and others.

What Wonder Woman taught me and keeps teaching me?

I remember when I first learned about her. She amazed me. I couldn't believe that a woman could be all those things! I couldn't believe that she was celebrated for her independence and strength.

When I was growing up, I've never had a strong female role model. I learned that as a woman you need to be pretty to be seen.

"Girls can't fight. Girls can't throw. Girls can't drive."

"You need to look pretty but don't be too smart or confident. Be thin and dress well, but don't be bold or too outspoken. Be nice and sweet, but don't worry about success, finances or other 'manly' things."

"Don't be too demanding, too confident and for the love of the gods, don't be too career-driven, because men don't like that."

But with all those "restrictions" and "labels" that were put on me as a young girl, I've always had the urge to prove them all wrong. I have two younger brothers and for a long time, I felt like I need to compete with them. That I needed to show the world that I can do the same things.

That 'urge' made me stronger but I lost the most important thing:

My Femininity!

Photo by Silvijami

I thought I couldn't combine my tough self with female attributes. I can't throw balls as far as boys, but still be feminine. I can't be as ambitious and demanding in my career as men, but still be feminine.

And then Wonder Woman struts into my life, showing me that you can do all that!

That I can be a strong and independent woman.

So, I tattooed her symbols into my back to always remind me that I can be anything I want and still be a graceful and sexy woman.

I can be an amazon warrior princess who loves herself and embraces her own femininity.

--------------------------------------------

Thanks for reading, you lovely person! If you liked my article and feel generous, feel free to give me a little tip. :)

I'd appreciate the support very much while I'm pouring out my heart and working on my dream to become a full-time writer.

--------------------------------------------

Similar articles you may like:

How Wonder Woman can help you live a better life

Movie Life Lesson: Be More Like Erin Brockovich

Say The Word: Self-Love!

art
Like

About the Creator

Jule Jessenberger

When I’m not hunting demons with Dean and Sam or looking for hidden treasures with Indiana Jones, I’m writing stories or geeky articles, and sometimes (ok, most of the time) I’m fangirling about shows, comics, or movies.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.