Viva logo

Things to remember, tattooed on my body (Part 2)

Every one of my tattoos tells a story to remind me of ...

By Jule JessenbergerPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
Photo by Silvijami

My tattoos are a part of me and they tell my story. Or a story. Depending which tattoo it is.

I like to decorate my body to help me remind of good things in life or to give me strength. Like for example my back tattoo, that represents "Wonder Woman", my strength and femininity.

But in this article it's not about my first tattoo, it's about the ones that followed after it and recorded parts of my life. And one also shows how obsessed I am with good Bavarian Brezels.

Because believe it or not but those Brezels on my arm have a meaning for themselves. And please for the love of the gods, don't call them "Pretzels"! Not here in this post anyway because those are different ... very different!

I might write an article about Brezels and why they're not to compare with Pretzels some day, but not today.

Today it's about:

Photo by Silvijami

Remember your roots, but embrace the journey of your life.

I started those "life"-rings on my arm about two years ago when I went to Canada. Because I wanted something that would remind me of my roots in Germany, Bavaria.

Oddly, I've always known deep down that I wouldn't stay in Germany. That even though I feel extremely privileged to have grown up in this wonderful country, I know that this isn't where I'm supposed to be. That's not where I belong.

I've always had "Fernweh".

That's a German word that expresses the longing of being far away. It's the opposite of homesickness.

But still ...

My German roots = Brezeln and daisies

I wanted to honour my roots and the privilege of being a German citizen. So, I got my first tattoo ring in Munich, my self-acclaimed hometown. And it contains Brezeln and daisies.

Brezeln because it's one of the best snacks in Germany and I love them. Especially my Canadian or international friends know that because I'm mentioning it a lot. A LOT.

One friend recently told me: "Actually, I only want to visit Germany to tase one of those Brezeln you're always talking about."

Yes, the obsession is real, guys.

Daisies because those are the flowers of my youth when I grew up in the region "Allgäu". I always saw them and made daisy crones for myself. When I was in Canada, I noticed them in the grass and they made me think about the place I grew up.

It's great to know your roots but nothing's better than a good adventure. Once in a while you should go out there in the world and explore new things, like Bilbo.

My Canadian adventure = shells and maple leaves

Well, two years ago I went on my own big adventure. I finally had enough courage and confidence to turn my back on Germany for a while. I came to Vancouver, Canada, and I fell in love with the city, the ocean, and the people there.

Canada will always have a special place in my heart and make me feel fuzzy inside. I learned a lot about myself and was able to follow my passion, writing.

Shells because I loved being close to the ocean and listen to the waves. It was my happy place and I made great memories there. It also reminds me that life is full of ups and downs. A constant flow of waves on which you need to learn to ride or you drown.

Maple Leaves because ... well, that's obvious, isn't it? I mean what better way to remember Canada than seeing a maple leaf on your arm? Also, I thought I already have daisies for Germany so maples would be a great addition.

I don't know what kind of ring will come next but I can't wait to add more "life rings" to my arm to remember important steps in my journey. And I also know the next adventure might be just around the corner.

Wherever I might land next, I'm gonna look forward to it and hope they have some good flora for a tattoo idea.

Talking about roots and the journey in my life, there's another very important tattoo on my left shoulder that means the world to me. Even though it's screwed up.

But that just makes it more beautiful and precious to me:

Photo by Silvijami

Remember: You're never alone

Yes, I have a siblings tattoo. Pretty cool, right?

The three little triangles symbolise my brothers and me. We're three siblings (obviously!), I'm the oldest and therefore "my" triangle is filled.

I know it looks pretty screwed up and weird. The tattoo artist who did that made a mistake but to be totally honest with you, I absolutely love it. I mean, I'm screwed up and weird too.

So, why shouldn't my triangle be as well?

My brothers have the same tattoos. The youngest has it over his heart with only the last triangle filled. The other one (the middle one) has it on his left biceps with the middle triangle filled.

We all wear it with pride and love.

But don't get me started with how long it took us to find a motive!

I suggested triangles before but my brothers didn't like it. It was too "girly" for them. Funny enough with some time (and after I bothered the hell out of them!) they finally agreed and now like this idea.

We're the three musketeers

... except we have swords. And these cool hats. Or can fight ... well, not so coordinated at least.

But we live the "one for all, and all for one"-mentality.

Even though my brothers and me couldn't be more different from our personalities and sometimes characteristics we love each other unconditionally and would do anything for each other.

When in rare moments I feel alone, I look at that tattoo and remind myself that there are also two idiots in this world who shared all their life with me and are there for me, no matter what.

So, these are my tattoos.

Well, not all of them but the most important ones and I'm sure there'll be more to follow. I always have an idea in the back of my head that sometimes pops up.

But like I said, my tattoos are a part of me and my story. And as a storyteller myself it might not be surprising that I also writes stories on my body.

Or put in simpler words: Things to remember, tattooed on my body.

--------------------------------------------

Thanks for reading, you lovely person! If you liked my article and feel generous, feel free to give me a little tip. :)

I'd appreciate the support very much while I'm pouring out my heart and working on my dream to become a full-time writer.

--------------------------------------------

Similar articles you may like:

Things to remember, tattooed on my body (Part 1)

A story about a supernatural friendship

Yennefer of Vengerberg is bound to make an impact in your life

art
Like

About the Creator

Jule Jessenberger

When I’m not hunting demons with Dean and Sam or looking for hidden treasures with Indiana Jones, I’m writing stories or geeky articles, and sometimes (ok, most of the time) I’m fangirling about shows, comics, or movies.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.