Viva logo

Gravity affects the aging female

Women can boost their looks and self-esteem by fighting the force that pulls you down.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Gravity affects the aging female
Photo by BBH Singapore on Unsplash

I first began noticing the pull of gravity when I was in my mid -40s. There were days when I felt tired and sluggish for no particular reason. On other occasions, I would feel light as if I had lost 10 pounds. I would have a spring in my step and did not know why. I eventually figured out that the root of the issue was gravity. As we age our bodies begin to go south. The average hardworking woman is not able to spend the time and money to work out in the gym to maintain a slim and muscular body but there are ways you can tweak it.

I noticed that when I wore a bra that lifted my breast, I had better posture and looked more youthful in my opinion. I began to take notice of the aura of women who went without a bra and their breasts touched their waists as opposed to those whose bosoms were high. Those who wore a bra that lifted their breasts had better posture and seemed self -assured. The women whose breast hung down because of an ill-fitting brassiere or where not wearing one seemed to drag.

Whenever I went out and I wore a bra that lifted me, along with support or control top pantyhose, I actually had a glide in my stride. The same was true when I pulled my hair back into a ponytail or bun because it lifted my face somewhat. I believe the pull of gravity affects our outlook as well as our bodies and pulls both downward. If you are not able to go to the gym there are things you can do every day to help your body become firmer. It will naturally take longer than working out in the gym or having a trainer but remember it took you more than a few weeks to get into this situation.

By Library of Congress on Unsplash

As often as you can, walk on your tiptoes to strengthen your leg muscles. Holding on to a solid surface do knee bends in sets of 10. While standing lift your hands straight up over your head in sets of 10. If you are unable to do jumping jacks you can rise up and down on your toes while raising your arms in the same motion you would as if you were doing jumping jacks. While seated press your palms together then release, again in sets of 10. All movement is good, but these particular ones will tighten muscles.

In order to combat or repair sagging skin on your neck and a line, try holding your head back and pursing your lips as if you are puckering for a kiss. Stick your tongue out and up as if trying to touch your nose. Remember to d both exercises in sets of 10. These things can be done from the comfort of your home any time you desire. By practicing on a regular basis, they become part of your lifestyle and your new normal. You may not see immediate results but in time there will be a noticeable difference. Keeping your face and neck area moist with lotion and oil is a plus. Massaging these items into the skin also helps boost firmness.

By LOGAN WEAVER on Unsplash

Practice good posture by walking straight. Catch a glimpse of yourself each time you pass a mirror or see your reflection in a glass. You can also try the old school method of walking with books on your head. Invest in a bra and other undergarments that will lift your sagging breasts, waist, buttocks, stomach, hips, and thighs. Make sure that your items fit comfortably and do not bind or constrain you. Not only is this uncomfortable but it can exasperate indigestion and acid reflux. I found this out the hard way. Age-related gravitational pull is normal but by making a few changes, you can keep it from being more severe. When we look better we feel better and desire to do better.

health
Like

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.