Unbalanced logo

Track & Field 2k21: Olympic Trials, The High Jumpers

A discussion at the trials with Taylor Beard

By Winners OnlyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Taylor Beard

The Olympic Trials are here.

Our 2k21 season continues to roll on as some of the athletes that we have featured now have the opportunity to compete for a chance to make the United State Olympic team.

You see so many posts over the years of people doing their best to document their journey to the next Olympic games. Few athletes get to this point, even fewer make it to the Olympics. In this feature we are going to check out some of our favorite athletes who have gotten an opportunity to become Olympians for the upcoming games in Tokyo.

Let's talk about the long jump. Here are the flights that take place today in Eugene, Oregon.

Flight 1

Lily Lowe, Arizona

Chineye Agina, Azusa Pacific

Lucy Corbett, Montana State

Rachel Glenn, South Carolina

Jamari Drake, New Mexico

Nicole Greene, Unattached

Sanaa Barnes, Villanova

Anna Hall, Georgia

Inika McPherson, Unattached

Vashti Cunningham, Nike

Elizabeth Evans, Unattached

Shelby Tyler, Georgia

Flight 2

Jelena Rowe, Asics

Rachel McCoy, Unattached

Shelley Spires, US Air Force

Taylor Beard, Cincinnati

Abigail O'Donoghue, LSU

Nissi Kabongo, Stephen F. Austin State

Ty Butts Townsend, Unattached

Quintella Johnson, Eastern Michigan

Krystle Schade, Unattached

Claire Kieffer-Wright, Unattached

Rylee Anderson, Kansas

Amina Smith, Shore AC

Morgan Smalls, Unattached

Below: Vashti Cunningham

Vashti Cunningham is the favorite of course, the 2016 World Indoor champ is the only competitor that has ever jumped over two meters. This season we had fun reporting on college stars like Lily Lowe from Arizona, Sanaa Barnes from Villanova, Morgan Smalls who jumped for USC and Quintella Johnson who is a bit of a Cinderella from the mid-major program Eastern Michigan.

Below: Taylor Beard

We were, however, able to catch up with a friend and an athlete that we interviewed at the beginning of 2021. Cincinnati's Taylor Beard, who just completed her first outdoor season and competed at the NCAA Indoor and Outdoor national meets, now has a chance to become an Olympian. Let's check out how she is handling this exciting time in her athletic career.

Winners Only: How did you find out about your opportunity to compete in the trials?

Taylor Beard: My coach told me I was sitting 19th in the US, so I would have a chance to be pushed through to fill the field.

Do you remember where you were and what you were doing?

Not really, I didn’t believe it until we got here to get credentials!

So you've kind of been floating on a cloud?

Yes, that’s a great way to explain it! Just been brushing it off. It still hasn’t hit me fully yet.

What has making it this far told you about yourself as an athlete?

I have a really hard time believing that I’m good enough to be at bigger meets. I tend to not fully believe or appreciate my abilities but now I’m starting to realize I am worthy of competing with wonderful athletes and I am a good athlete.

It amazes me every time you say that. It's like your body knows something that your mind hasn't totally accepted.

Yes, I know my potential and so does my body, but my mind has never caught up. Working on it mentally!

Ok so if, just if Taylor Beard becomes an Olympian after this weekend, how do you imagine you will react? Will you scream, cry, pass out? How will you respond to such a big accomplishment?

Probably all of the above! But first and foremost, I would be thanking God! Especially since I am no where near becoming one right now.

We know you have to go so let's wrap up with this. Has this opportunity given you a newer responsibility to bring back to Cincinnati next season?

I don’t believe so. I always treat every meet like it’s a regular one. I think I will definitely work harder but that’s because I want to be a great athlete. I want to be able to be an actual contender for the Olympics one day.

Hey thanks so much for your time. Congrats on such an amazing season. You have accomplished so much in such a short time.

Thank you!

culture
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.