Trader logo

To Be A Daytrader!

Making Career Changes.

By Nikki McwilliamsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
To Be A Daytrader!
Photo by Nick Chong on Unsplash

So people ask me what's it like to be a day trader??? And I'll tell you, it's frustrating, it's hard and it takes time, dedication and a lot of research, oh and money! Then again it also depends on what Market you're talking about, if you're talking about stocks, bonds, options, and ETF’s it's actually quite easy , well aside from opening a brokerage account and doing a little research on a few stocks that is. However if you're talkin about forex that's frustrating finding direction is key but what they don't tell you is that it's very hard to do when the direction doesn't stay the same for very long , but that's only during announcement months that announcement occurs often. By announcement I mean the unemployment rate election of the United States Treasury making some kind of announcement about inflation and it goes for other countries as well because in Forex you are trading currencies from around the world after all, 22 of them to be exact. But I tell you my most favorite thing to trade is cryptocurrency. I mean it's an endless Market that's open 24/7 and has numerous platforms to trade on and thousands of altcoins to invest in good ones that actually increase in value substantially sometimes too if you pick the right one. which is exactly why I would recommend following a professional who is in the know, and basically does the research for you and for that type of service well as we all know no good service is free so of course it costs you. but it's well worth it. I've made more money in cryptocurrencies then I have in the stock market and forex combined. Yes of course I lost mine but I've made tons more than I've lost. For me being a day trader is amazing. I get to do it at my own pace on my own time, And it's something I love doing. It's almost an addiction. When you make a solid investment and then you check on it a couple days later and you see those gains The feeling is unexplainable. I definitely wouldn't recommend it to someone who didn't like doing it or didn't have the time if you have a full-time job kids, and household to take care ofThen you probably ought to look into some kind of automated system that trades for you. But all in all in my experience I've had fun I am still having fun and I don't think that I have found a hobby that can make me money the way that the markets do. Although Sometimes I do feel like an addict as soon as I wake up and my feet before I have to check my computer Or I have to look at my phone and see how my friends are doing see what my portfolio looks like today. In many ways it has created a little distance between me and my husband but I think that's only because I have found something to do with my time. Something that he doesn't quite understand He says it's just too complicated for him and uninteresting because it's boring which I guess to some it probably is but me I can talk about it all day long which stocks to invest in and why Or what's happening with the blockchain today or what new laws they're Trying to implement I don't really care for politics but politics go hand-in-hand when it comes to Trading because if you don't know what's going on in the news or in the world for that matter you're not really going to know what's going on in the markets. I went to school to get a better handle on chart analysis and technical analysis and fundamental analysis and it kind of paid off because it works in all Markets. I guess I just wanted to share my story, I haven't been too successful enough to say I'm successful but I'm well on my way and you know what they say it's always the journey that matters the most will that you remember the most.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Nikki Mcwilliams

So Ima Trader @ MTI. I trade the forex markets I've also traded stocks and options. In my experience there's lots of money to be made as well as lots of money to loose (if your just guessing or wishing) that is.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.