The Swamp logo

To Belong or Not to Belong

Where is a refugee's home under Covid19?

By Waad HassanPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
5

A couple of weeks into this pandemic and I have found myself contemplating the conditions of temporary existence. Not because social distancing is giving me an existential crisis (which I might be), but because as a "stateless" young woman I know better than to assume everyone is safe. While refugees, worldwide, are already vulnerable individuals, what happens when the conditions of citizenship are put to the test? Generally, in a fight against an international pandemic, countries assume the motto every man for themselves (excuse the sexist phrase). This covers everyone under the security of citizenship or even a temporary status like a study via- not to say that they are fully secure either; but what happens to those stuck in between?

Let me start with this: I am one of the lucky ones. My name is Waad Hassan and I am a third-generation Palestinian refugee. I am a refugee in Lebanon which deprives me of various human rights such as the right to own property or pursue around 70+ jobs. But let's not linger on the sad part. In a way, I am an international citizen, I was born in Dubai, grew up in Lebanon, received my undergraduate degree in the USA, and I am currently pursuing my Master's in Canada. Right now, I am living in the safety of my apartment in a university residence. I spend my days studying online, reading, cooking, and pondering how long does it take for boredom to cause someone to spontaneously-combust. But, again, I am one of the lucky ones.

According to the UNHCR, there are around 70.8 million displaced people in the world of which 25.9 million are refugees and 3.5 million are asylum-seekers. First, let me explain, while all refugees are struggling, some of them have managed to be refugees of countries that grant them rights like Canada. I only say this to avoid a bleak image in the middle of this bleak pandemic. Other refugees, if not the majority, are continuously struggling to attain human rights: where do they live? which country is responsible for them? how will they seek medical attention? I am not sure how to answer that. Second, there are asylum seekers. One of the first reactions to a pandemic is closing the borders. And yes! I know that is a necessary move, but all consequences must be measurable. What happens to those stuck between a country they are escaping and one that will not have them? What happens to those stranded at the borders with no protection what-so-ever?

I do not have answers, but I believe asking questions is an important step. I want to make sure you know that I acknowledge my privilege: I get to sit behind a laptop screen in a comfortable apartment and write this piece. Though I have had my fair struggles as a refugee with no citizenship, I have the current security of my student visa in Canada.

Now ask yourself this, have you asked any questions from whatever place of privilege you are in?

politics
5

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.