The Swamp logo

PEACE OUT DONALD, YOU BETTER DUCK!

No pun intended! Good bi-den!

By Tiffany LintonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
PEACE OUT DONALD, YOU BETTER DUCK!
Photo by Charles Deluvio on Unsplash

Bettering this country and society as a whole runs far deeper than voting. Of course, voting is a huge step in which we have the opportunity to contribute to the change in our future as a country, however, there are certain things that a vote will not necessarily change. As an African-American girl, there are things that I am more likely to face on a day to day basis compared to my friends who are non people of color.

Yes, I wish I could wake up living life without feeling as though my hair is too unprofessional to land a new job. Yes, I wish I could wake up living life in mere confidence, knowing that if my brothers or father was to get pulled over by the police, there is a chance that the color of their skin won't make them a target for a disturbing interaction. Yes, I wake up grateful that I didn't get killed in my sleep due to officers shooting first and asking questions later, along with no knock warrant issues. Yes, I wake up grateful that my friends woke up as well and made it home safely, and that I didn't see their names trending as a hashtag on Twitter or Instagram. Yes, there are days where I'd rather stay in the house because going outside means I might bump into an officer, and anything can happen, and this crooked system will always have his back rather than mine because the color of my skin automatically makes me a target.

I want to make this world a better place, which is why I casted my vote, but how can it be possible when I fear the thought of leaving my house and never being able to make it back. Or even if I do, being killed on my own property. I hate the fact that I have to have this conversation, but we have so much more work to do. We need to infiltrate this system and turn it around for the better, because let's face it, in reality, "One nation, under God, indivisible with liberty and justice for all," means liberty and justice for some.

Last January, I couldn't figure out what kind of company I wanted to start. I knew I wanted it to be something that anyone can benefit from. Sooner or later, I decided to start a tea company, PersonaliTEA. I created this brand for nourishment and a healthy lifestyle with the freedom to to customize and mix and match herbs for a uniquely desired tea flavor. I always found myself spending rather than learning about black wealth and focusing more on what it meant to sustain the black dollar.

With that, my brand launched in October and so far it has been doing pretty well. I plan to illustrate consistency and a helping hand in society. I made sure to plan out community service events that will allow me to donate clothing, food items, toys, and money to homeless shelters as well as causes that support people of color.

With all of this being said,

Dear Mr. Soon-to-be-gone Trump, I believe that African-Americans have greatly suffered from the beginning of our time in the United States after being robbed of our culture, however, if we truly, and I mean truly support each other, uplift each other, and consistently invest into brands, businesses, and communities of our own, we can overcome. This is something you obviously care nothing about! You only care about yourself and it shows in your trash work ethic. Though it is not fair the cards we've been dealt, we have to play the best game we possibly can! I aim to mentor young girls of color while partnering with brands and companies to showcase the natural beauty of us to portray us in positive light. Also something you care nothing about. We should be mainstream. We should get the things we deserve. We should have a place in society that does not require trauma or suffering first. We must make a change. In my twenty-three years on this earth, history just goes to show that as a whole, we've taken three steps to the side rather than three steps forward. Black lives matter, they always have, and always will just as much as anyone else's and activism goes beyond the screen of our cellular devices! The same cellular device you love to tweet on with those fat, orange fingers of yours! Oops! What's that? You got banned? Can't relate! HAHA! United, we should stand to contribute endlessly to society by breaking barriers. You need to donate to every cause whether it be something in relation to climate change or homelessness, or mass incarceration. You want to go down in history as the best, but your title will be the absolute worst.

-Sincerely, a citizen.

For the rest of us, let's be the foundation for a successful future that MLK's dream should really come true. A world without racism or prejudice sounds far-fetched, but it won't hurt to try to get there. Let's proudly celebrate ourselves and respect our own people. Change goes beyond the vote.

trump
Like

About the Creator

Tiffany Linton

Writer, Actress, Educator, CEO, Singer, if you want more then follow me on Instagram: tiffanymulan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.