The Swamp logo

Party Aligned Pt. 1

Same Parents...

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 4 years ago 7 min read
Like

And radically different views on socioeconomics.

This is the first installment of a trilogy. It's more or less a direct transcript of a text conversation by me and one of my younger brothers.

Side note- There's a couple of screenshots, literary references, and videos from each of us that will be loosely referred to throughout the convo. The titles, captions, and /or brief descriptions to immediately follow.

His video: Jordan Peterson on Universal Basic Income.. 'Money ISN'T the Problem!'

"Jordan Peterson is asked for his opinion on UBI as a solution for increasing automation, which he replies to by framing the issue not as primarily an economic one but one of purpose in life."

My video: Wealth Inequality in America

"Infographics on the distribution of wealth in America, highlighting both the inequality and the difference between our perception of inequality and the actual numbers. The reality is often not what we think it is."

A Zero Hedge article recently posted to Facebook by Mr. Peter Schiff with the following caption, "If the economy is so good[,] why are so many Americans living paycheck-to-paycheck? The next recession is going to be the most brutal in history."

My first article's title: 1 in 3 American Workers Runs Out Of Money Before Payday by Tyler Durden (16FEB2020, ZH).

His first article: "Does money equal happiness? It does, but only until you earn this much" by Josh Hafner (26FEB2018, USA TODAY- MONEY).

An excerpt from a key MLK speech; delivered less than a month before his assassination, plays an instrumental role in this debate also.

As summarized by GPHistorical.org , his 10MAR1968 "The Other America" (delivered in NYC):

"This other America has a daily ugliness about it that transforms the buoyancy of hope into the fatigue of despair. In this other America, thousands and thousands of people, men in particular walk the streets in search for jobs that do not exist."

His second article: A Homeless Man Loses $100,000 in Six Months by Alan Yu (~2007).

I use our middle initials to signify us. My initials are DVD and his are DSD.

Without further ado-

V: Still listening to audio books?

S: Always. How you been? What you been up to? You been on my list of folk to call.

V: Respect. I'm surviving; thanks. Been playing low key mostly. Trying to stay positive. You?

S: Staying busy, working hard, killing debt, and learning... Trying to finesse this E-6 [Staff Sergeant (Army)] promotion.

You working today?

V: Respect. I think that the concept of "good debt" is missed on almost all of my friends and fam.

At any rate, I haven't been to my day job once this year. Not sure if/when I'm going back.

Been putting in apps (job applications) and reading/writing though.

S: I'll be honest, philosophically I don't think there is a such thing as "good debt". When I get paid and keep the money, I can only see that as a better option.

There is a utility to a mortgage (because of the equity and value of the land/property). But thats about it.

And even that I don't plan on keeping around longer than necessary.

What have you been applying for? I'm confused-- Do you not want to go to work?

V: I do. Boss wants me to wait until my backpay is found though.

Applied for positions on Andrews (AFB) and whatnot. Also, I'm planning on a new blog post to explain good debt.

Ever get around to my old ones?

S: Back pay? This job market is booming. Somewhere got to be hiring.

I look forward to reading it. I like a good economic discussion.

I'm pretty sure I checked the last posts out back when you emailed me; but I don't remember much about what I did two weeks ago.

V: Touché. I plan on getting you a Schiff audiobook for your Bday.

I never got my first two checks. Also, nobody's looking for part time workers who refuse to work SUN and THU.

S: Like Adam Schiff? You don't gotta get no audiobook; I just get the classics off YouTube and Libirvox.

Waiting on checks... Thats jacked up.

Have you checked Amazon? I see folks who drive vans, and know folk who use their own vehicles to drop off packages on their own time.

And I thought you could do more than part time.

V: I have a salary cap. Not really. Peter (Schiff).

S: Are you sure? The numbers in the short term may show you better off making that little; but how does that set you up for success and independence in 3-5-10-20 years, or in retirement?

V: The economy is crashing within 12 months. Fuck a 5 year plan.

S: Right. What goes up must come down. We are statistically due for a dip or recession; but what if it doesn't crash, so to speak?

V: Impossible.

S: Ok; you got to educate me on this one.

V: National debt x fiat currency x uninformed populace = perfect storm. Prove me wrong?

S: I agree; all of those things aren't ideal. But I'm not sold that we go to post WWII German economy as a result.

Two thirds of our national debt is [owed] to ourselves. Ultimately if rough (or catastrophic) times are on the way, wouldn't the best course of action be to owe no one and acquire assets?

V: Beach sand! We're going to make Germany, Argentina, and the Venezuela crises look like ideal circumstances.

Imagine all debts, cash flow, and commerce canceled/coming to a screeching halt. The clairvoyant who borrowed gold to escape the collapse of Babylon understood the concept of good debt. Apologies for the delay [in replying].

S: I'm not sure what you mean by debt canceled. If I own a bank and I have the title to the car you drive, that's my car; and I'm going to go get it.

We don't need cash for economic exchange. And like we discussed before, if I have food stocked up; fuel; ammo; water sanitation equipment, and you have gold (however much), you can keep your metals.

Assuming that you are absolutely correct about collapse down to the day, wouldn't the best thing to do be to build the economic power now; to be in the best position then (credit has a limit)?

And assuming that you are partially correct, or incorrect, aren't you putting all of your eggs in one basket with this philosophy? As in not hedging your bets.

V: Fair points, more or less. Though, I think that you're forgetting that Rick & Morty scenario that you told me and [Cousin] Simmons about- "Wait a minute! Who's paying me to [repossess his raggedy Jeep]?"

Gold is the super long term concept. There'll be a 90 day "reboot" period where the wise will all but completely refrain from venturing outdoors.

S: Right. That's one possibility. But let's say you are 97% correct. That's where my point about hedging your bets comes in.

If its my bank, I got the title, and it's my raggedy Jeep. I'll trade some goon that piece of paper (heck I'll slide him 10 titles [I don't care]) for food, water, protection, services, etc.

Confederate [soldiers] got paid in promise notes. Roman soldiers got coin; but the big pay was land, after years of service (another promise).

V: Facts, essentially. Though, I think that you forget that our money is essentially (and literally according to some) a giant Ponzi scheme based on promissory notes.

Once that promise is broken... Also, I believe that your argument is deeply flawed.

Banks aren't stockpiling food, water, or anything but digital "promissory notes". Your bank can't promise [Cousin] Chris services it doesn't provide in order for him to repo Black Beauty (my Jeep).

It's a house of cards x musical chairs x rigged slots. Please pardon my pessimism. My ideals have betrayed me.

S: I think you misunderstood me. I meant the bank's representative gives someone a title to one house, one vehicle, food, and fuel to go and clear two houses; then repo three vehicles.

Or provide some other service for the bank. Or bring food and water, or fuel to the bank for consumption.

Or distribute for services or other goods. The vehicle is the promise, in my hypothetical, in exchange for goods or service.

V: Okay. I think I feel ya.

Though, I wonder if there might not be a year's long moratorium on promises or anything of the sort. If the life's blood of our economy gets nullified... Never mind the people who will literally want to "eat the rich".

S: You could be correct. And we can "what if" all day. I just wouldn't bet my retirement on it.

Working 40-60 hours a week puts you in a position to increase the likelihood of prosperity now, in a worst case future scenario, and in a best case future scenario.

Win, win, win. I see no downside to ownership and financial independence in any situation.

V: Word up. My main problem is that without ownership of weapons and whatnot, everything that I own can easily be taken from me.

Apologies for the delay. Just finished my weekly one on one.

If dad hits the lotto tomorrow, and "gives me a small loan of a million dollars"; but the hole kit and caboodle goes to naught the next day...

***To be continued...

politics
Like

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.