The Swamp logo

MyšŸ—³Was 4 Trump!!

I was determined in my mind, it was either Donald Trump, or I just wasnā€™t voting!!!

By Erik DeSean BarrettPublished 4 years ago ā€¢ 6 min read
Like
Nikia, Maggie & Me. 2020

Itā€™s 11:39pm on Sunday March 1st. I was struggling to go to sleep, until I quit trying; I donā€™t think Iā€™ll be able to close my eyes until I get this message off my mind. So here we go...

I hate politics, and feel same if not more about many politicians. Iā€™ve worked with my share, over the last half decade, everyone from local officials, to state, and even national, all of them somewhat leaving me with a sickening taste in my mouth. They arenā€™t bad people, but none of them seemingly speak to me. I always leave meetings feeling more empty, more defeated, worthless, with a why even bother attitude...

I donā€™t know if you are aware, but Super Tuesday is right around the corner, and everyone is in these streets begging for votes. Itā€™s the one time of year when politicians outdo pan handles 25-1, hands down.

Iā€™ve been struggling these last few weeks, finding myself growing more and more frustrated with the Democratic Party. I even considered the most drastic measures of all. Either shedding my Democratā€™s card, switching republican, which yes means I strongly considered voting for Donald Trump, or just not voting at all.

My mind told me I had a few months to think about it, that I could skip Super Tuesday, thinking about it hard until November.

So letā€™s talk about my struggles. First off donā€™t hate gays, but I donā€™t trust SOME OF THEM. I donā€™t trust those who wish to use every nook and cranny possible to conquer our democracy for their benefit. I support them, love them, and am so happy they get to live the lives they desire. I want the best for them, just like a want the best for white people, immigrants, and even my own black people. I couldnā€™t support a candidate who made me cringe. I couldnā€™t support a guy who deep down in my heart I didnā€™t believe would truly push for liberty and justice for all. I was scared of the country going to liberal, because super progressive beliefs donā€™t line up with mine, and the last thing I desire is someone telling me who and what I am going to believe.

So seeing where the pendulum was swinging, Iā€™d already seemingly made up my mind. I knew my decision wasnā€™t going to sit well, and I could already see how many close to me was going to react. I know for a fact, My political mom, would loose her political manners, and kick my D*ck in, well what was left of it after grandma got finished. I could see my homie, Nikia driving from the Peninsula screaming for her piece, if my aunt momma Stacy didnā€™t beat her here from DC. TRUTH IS, I was left feeling helpless, left feeling like everyone wanted to give me stuff I didnā€™t ask for, while telling me I wanted things I donā€™t.

Feeling completely disconnected, my grandma came into my man cave. Saying sugar, Iā€™ve been on this earth for eighty years, and Iā€™ve never been to a politically rally. Would you take me to see Joe Biden? Iā€™m thinking grandma heā€™s good as dead, why waste your time? Mind you this was well before South Carolina..

So I agreed to go, when I arrived I saw something Iā€™ve never seen in my life, especially never at a political rally. The school (BTW) was flooded with not WHITES, BUT NEGROS.. I said NEGROS. These werenā€™t your sedate acidity, these werenā€™t your bougie ghentonians, these were straight up hood folks, folks Iā€™d never seen come to things like this, and folks most said would never care.

Nearly 2000 people, 98% black filled the Booker T. Washington High School Gym. Which in itself made me feel some kind of way. We werenā€™t in some highfalutin deck overlooking the Elizabeth, or on a college surrounded by those with quiet money, we werenā€™t even running around west Ghent, no we were in the heart of the hood, both past and present.

I remember getting a text from a homie around 830pm. He asked how was it? Itā€™s not finished I responded. Itā€™s almost 9pm he replied. I know I returned with excitement. Why are yā€™all in there so long? Itā€™s a party!! This is what happens when Negros get to have their own thing, we do what we do.

Now it was 98% black, 2% white, with some LGBTQ šŸ³ļøā€šŸŒˆ. This is important because they didnā€™t show up like they were entitled, like they had a right to be here.. They came to our house, and they respect it. They respected us, and in kind we welcomed them. They danced with us, hugged us, held hands with us, and asked to come back to be with us.

I remember two ladies, sitting next to each other, one black, one white. The black lady curled over to the white and said. Iā€™m so glad I lived long enough to welcome you to my hood, the white lady responded, Iā€™m so glad I came to enjoy how good you guys are.

Another lady, somewhat feeling threaten was calmed down by this black lady who said, baby you are welcome here, I got you, taking her by the hand, keeping her close by the entire evening. This wasnā€™t the ruffians, you hear about on tv, these werenā€™t the parental whites weā€™ve come despise. Everyone felt at home, in our house, and everyone enjoyed what we had to offer.

When it came time to take pics, one white gurl was buried under me, Nikia and I was like not all of us are going to get the shot, but Nikia you get it, and weā€™ll ride shot gun. It was the happiest this white girl had ever been, it was the happiest Iā€™d ever been.

No one has ever brought this out of people like Joe Biden. Even Obama couldnā€™t bring out this kind of emotion, this kind of love. Obama because he was black couldnā€™t come to the hood, because the white folks would bury him, but Uncle Joe, said just like Bill Clinton in 1992, these are my people, and Iā€™m going to see em..

Uncle Joe pulled me off the political cliff, not because of his great agenda, or because of his experience. I took to Uncle Joe because I felt like he hosted the worlds greatest family reunion.

As I prepare to leave you, I recall of one last experience, this had to have been the most exciting of them all. This lady fell out her chair, we all turned to help her but two gay dudes mostly did the job. I looked at them, asking why are

You here? Saying Mayor Petes rally is down the street, this before we knew heā€™d dropped out. They replied we donā€™t care about him, and we certainly donā€™t care about a gay man being president. We care about someone who will love us all. We donā€™t need a gay man to know weā€™re important, we feel it right here, with you.. I can tell, even if you donā€™t agree with us, you guys love us, you guys want us to be happy, and youā€™re not going to stand in our way, and we donā€™t need to stand in yours..

So this Tuesday I am casting my ballot for Uncle Joe, because I donā€™t just wanna live in a prosperous America, I wanna live America. Filled with my family, who have different styles, and ways of living but itā€™s still the land we can all call my home, sweet home!!

politics
Like

About the Creator

Erik DeSean Barrett

BloggeršŸ‘ØšŸ¾ā€šŸ’» VloggeršŸŽ„ PodcasteršŸŽ™Life Enthusiasts!!! On mission to prove one can do what they believe despite what anyone says.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.