The Swamp logo

Humanity during Covid

#bekind #changingourmindset

By MoriaCavandishPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Hello my friends, are you well? Keeping safe? There has been a great deal of talk whether this virus is real if it's dangerous. If masks help, if they don't. I personally believe there is a virus out there, like influenza but far worse, it can be dangerous, to those with compromised immune systems even worse, and to those that don't, it's a crap shoot my friends, and maybe it targets certain genetic dispositions. Is it man made, or just mother nature fed up? I'd rather be safe than sorry, and the truth is I hate wearing a mask, but it makes other people feel better, safer so I wear it. Not because the government told me to, but because both my parents have weak immune systems. I do it for them. I don't believe in vaccines, yet respect your right to believe in them. Why? because we still have the flu. Even with a vaccine. I respect other people's fear. I pray for those that have died from it, and those fighting it. But I will not believe in fake news, I will not succumb to mass hysteria nor will not argue with people. Be safe, be kind and most of all remember we are human beings. Sadly this pandemic has brought out the worst in humanity. I'm embarrassed aren't you? There are people spitting on their fellow man, sticking their fingers in containers of food and putting them back on shelves, people are attacking one another over toilet paper? screaming at workers that are just doing their jobs. Hoarding food, cleaners and toilet paper, ignoring the people that can't just go out and get them. Where has humanity gone? Have we really gotten to a dog eat dog world, where the strongest survive? What happens when these people are in the position of the less fortunate?

Then we have the groups of people rushing to the streets Halloween night in the masses no masks no respect for others around them. All for the sake of a good party. Feeling as if their rights have been somehow squashed? People are screaming that Christmas is ruined. Last time I checked Zoom, Whatsapp and a dozen other video apps are still working. No, I don't believe the government at the best of times. I have friends that work in the medical industry and they have yet to see the pandemics in their hospitals or clinics. Perhaps smaller communities have it easier, that's logical, not the mass's like urban or metropolises areas. Of course they will be hit harder, more people, more viruses. I hear nothing but praise for doctors and nurses. Yes I'm thankful they do their jobs, but in fact it is their jobs. They chose to be in this profession. Sounds harsh, maybe, but it's the truth Yet I hear no pots and pans clanging for workers at groceries stores, pharmacists, and our amazing custodial staff. Are they not front line workers? Seems prejudice only the highly educated seem to be praised. Medical clinics protect only themselves not their patients. Denying people health care because they can't afford masks, isn't it in our constitution that no one is passed by because of race, gender, sexual orientation or financial status? How soon this is forgotten. Hospitals lay in wait for a pandemic while broken bones are left waiting, sick and dying people are turned away. I myself have had a COVID test, and when I went back, was told to get re tested, and again retested, this is not okay. It's an endless loop, don't get me started on the 40% increase in Canada for drug use and overdose, then there are mental health patients dying because no is available. I might sound harsh and uncaring, and it's not meant this way, but the truth is better said honestly. Think of the single people alone, no contact, no loved ones to get through this. Thank goodness for places in Canada like The Clubhouse, an organization that welcomes mental health patients for a few hours a week. Group talks, crafts. Those few hours save lives. I am appreciative don't get me wrong, but I see a lot of suffering.

Mass cooperation is permitted to stay open during this pandemic, and lockdown yet small mom and pop stores are closed, just another typical move by our governments, by a leader that gave himself a raise before releasing funds to his people. This shows cooperation is more important than the common man. We are slowly losing our rights, and we don't even realise it. So again. I wear a mask to protect others not myself, it's not the covid itself that kills so many people but the complications from, be it physical or mental. Show some respect, and kindness towards your fellow man. Must it take losing someone you love to open your eyes? We don't care until it's someone we love. Let's break this horrible cycle of greed, hoarding and disrespect. Only then will we make Canada a great place again.

politics
Like

About the Creator

MoriaCavandish

Born and raised on the beautiful West Coast in British Columbia Canada

All stories, poems, erotica and works are the sole property of

Moria Cavandish 2004- 2023

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.