The Swamp logo

How can the Police be trusted?

To much Police Violence in America

By Kate AdamsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Not The Photo I wanted but Pertains to my Story.

In light of the recent events of yet another black man being killed by a Police Officer as his co-workers stood by and did absolutely nothing I did a little research on shootings by Police Officers so as to not only educate myself but to inform my readers as well.

I haven't forgotten that Mr. Ferguson was killed by the Officer keeping a knee on a main artery in his neck, however, there are a number of people who are killed by Police Shooting's as well which is what I will discuss in this article.The information in which I will go over I acquired from Policeviolencereport.org. Anytime I use information from an article or a website I will put my source in the beginning of my article so there are no questions of plagarism as I know it is illegal to use information and not dictate where the information was acquired from.

According to the website and in 2015 unarmed black people were killed by police at five times the rate of unarmed whites. The percentage of this in 2015 was at 36% and is probably higher than that now and we haven't completed 2020 yet.

Now, I was raised in a town that was predominitly black and thought nothing of it. In fact, within the past few years I have re-connected with a few of my childhood friends on Facebook that are black. It is certainly great to see them doing well with no reports of having any issues with law enforcement. However, that is a small group of people compared to what is going on in the rest of the country and world.

The website states that black people make up 13% of the U.S. Population and that 1,147 people were killed by Police in 2017. 92% were killed by Police shootings. Tasers, Physical Force (Mr. Ferguson) and Police vehicles accounted for most other deaths. As far as charges being made, only 13 officers were charged, which is one percent of all killings. Nine out of the 13 cases had video evidence from Police body cams and dash cams.

569 officers were identified in cases and 48 had shot or killed someone before. Twelve had multiple prior shootings. Which begs the question of, "Why don't police departments across the country vet oncoming officers better than what they are doing now??" By not properly vetting a person entering the police force; each city and state is only asking for serious issues. Not only with Officers who have a natural hate for a specific race or people in general but the reprocussions of their actions by the community.

Whats even more frustrating is that most killings began with police responding to suspected non-violent offenses or cases where no crime was reported. Eighty-nine people were killed after police stopped them for a traffic violation. One hundred fourty nine people killed ; most unarmed people killed were people of color.

Black people were more likely to be killed by police, more likely to be unarmed and less likely to be threatening someone when killed. So, why is it that Police Officers across the country are targeting the black community? Why do Police Officers racial profile and have so much hate in their hearts?Do they not understand that White, Asian, Hispanic and Middle Eastern people make up the rest of the population as well as the above mentioned also commit just as many crimes as what the black community does?

I still won't be happy if and when I am able to get answers to my questions. It also angers me that Police departments are allowing hateful sacks of shit wear a badge and carry a gun which makes them think they are God and kill anyone in anyway they deem necessary, irregardless of the situation.

In closing I hope everyone stays safe out there and even though I focus on Domestic Violence and Life Coaching; if there is anything in which you need help with irregardless of what it is please contact me via e-mail which is [email protected].

-Kate-

controversies
1

About the Creator

Kate Adams

I have 28 years experience in the customer service field with one year experience as a Medical Assistant, one year experience as a CNA with various positions (Cashier, In Home Health, etc) in between. I also have an Associates degree.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.