The Swamp logo

Dear Kamala Harris..

What are you doing? Nothing apparently.

By Justice for AllPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

There were 15,0000 people who are not US Citizens expecting law enforcement officers who are charged with protecting the border, to go get them Burger King. This country is not "You can have it your way." These people are a danger to Americans, they could easily be cartel members, terrorists, carrying COVID and your response is to attack the officers appointed to secure the border. If 15,000 people were walking down the street where you live who were not US Citizens, who are not required to vaccinated, who wanted you to personally cater to them I am guessing you would call the Secret Service and demand they be prevented from living on your front porch. Maybe we need to move them to your house. If you will not deal with the situation to protect the citizens of this country they can move in with you and your family. You can sponsor 15,000 people who are trying to invade our country, provide for all their needs- clothing, food, medicine, child care, housing and have people who you have no way to know what they are going to do be your personal responsibility. That is what you are asking the American public to do. To take care of and coddle 15,000 people who could be carrying a disease you are forcing us to be vaccinated against, essentially trapped while you refuse to do anything but telegovern.

Even assuming that none of these people have a criminal record (which is more probable than improbable) , and the United States could trust Haitian agencies with telling us if they were criminals, we are in the middle of an 18 month crisis. An unprecedented pandemic has destroyed this country, created a war on law enforcement (not corrupt law enforcement) , a division along color lines to the point in 2021 we are using the terms Black (insert anything) based on one case of a thug who beat women, and I am not sorry caused his own death by refusing to act with any sort of commonsense when he had committed another in a string of felonies.

The impact of the pandemic is closing businesses, putting landlords at risk of losing their property and now you letting a coup happen by number of people bigger than many small rural towns essentially invade the United States. Did you consider the ramifications of your choice to do nothing? Here is what it looks like in 6 months. Those 15,000 people are burdening the welfare system, using hospitals already strained to capacity where children are being born without fathers in the room and grandparents are dying alone because no one can visit. If even one of these people is a criminal you have one more person the US Marshalls are going to have to find because local law enforcement is trying to clean up the mess you are creating. If one of those people kills someone, that is an entire American family that will never have their son or daughter. A child may never have a mother or father, or be born. A woman may have to experience the sheer terror of being sexually assaulted. None of that can ever be undone. The solution is not to blame an agency for doing their job and make a snap decision based on a few minutes of footage. You are the border czar, you could have stopped this. The responsibility is not on Border Patrol Agents doing their job when you won't even evaluate the situation for yourself. The appropriate answer when asked would have been "I am on my way to Texas to assess the situation myself and assist the local and federal agencies in determining what happened and to offer the resources of the Federal Government to rectify the situation whatever it may be."

I am not asking you what the solution is. If it was your property and not the border in Texas, you would more than likely not tell the Secret Service to bring them milk and cookies, and hand out your designer handbags to help them. I am asking you to think of your country like you would your family, because as the Vice President every American is your family and America the is property the citizens of the United States elected you to protect. You would not endanger your family, so why you endangering everyone else's? I grew up not so different from you, born to social worker who was a single mom, living across the street from Omni National. I went to college with the help of grandparents. I worked with disadvantaged youth for most of my career. I have wanted to be a lawyer since I was a child. I have had the worst things that could happen to someone happen to me because of an ex boyfriend who beat me, a county that destroyed my career protecting every public employee in Georgia and the 11th Circuit, I have had my sexual assault covered up by Mayors, lawyers and law enforcement, been treated as if I was nothing by people I love for no reason. Still I believe that this is "a nation of laws." Yet I can not tell you that I respect you. I respect that you are the Vice President of the United States of America but I can not respect you when you are willing to attack and shame Border Patrol Agents doing their jobs when you will not do yours. You and I took the same oath. "I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; that I take this obligation freely, without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion; and that I will well and faithfully discharge the duties of the office on which I am about to enter: So help me God." I took my oath in 2004, as a judicial/law enforcement officer, you in 2021 as the Vice President. I still take that oath very seriously as a USN Veteran granddaughter. You are not defending the Constitution. Those Border Patrol Agents are. You owe them an apology, that I am sure they will never hear. So I will do it for you.

To the Border Patrol Agents in Texas. I am sorry. I am sorry that your pictures are splashed all over the news and you have been accused of being racist. I am sorry that you now live with the fear that your families will be harmed and your careers destroyed for doing your job. I am sorry that you got thrown under the bus by not only DHS Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas but the Vice President of the United States. Your country stands with you.

opinion
Like

About the Creator

Justice for All

"Justice delayed, is justice denied" "Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere."

Tattooed, Employed and has a Psych degree..Always on the look out for a group of Avengers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.