Styled logo

"When in Doubt, Just Wear Black"

Trying to Find a Summer Outfit

By Alicia LeneaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

So, before I moved to New York City, I assumed that they had a common saying well known to all.

“When in doubt, just wear black.”

But I have found out that it is not a common saying. I have asked around and no one knows what I am talking about, so I am going to try to start a fashion trend. “When in doubt, just wear black.” It’s a good saying, right?

This week the weather went from cold to just right, but that meant I needed to wear lighter clothes. How could I do that when all my summer clothes were back home in southern IL? I was at a loss. I scoured my closet, threw everything out of my dresser drawers, just trying to find something, anything I could wear to the college. We have to dress in business casual clothing, so I don’t think the dress in the above photo was too out of place. I had this black dress and one in red, but the red did not look right without red shoes and sadly, I did not have red shoes. :(

So, instead of being in doubt and wearing the red dress without red shoes, I went with the black dress. What do you guys think? Too fancy? Too black? Just right? Cute? Leave me a comment and let me know what you think. How could I improve this look in the future?

After trying on the red dress about three times and the black the same amount of times before deciding on the black one, I rushed to do my make-up and curl my hair. You know, trying to pick out an outfit is so much harder than it seems. It takes a lot of time too. No wonder girls are normally late to everything. If you aren't, how do you do it? I need a fashion schedule or something. Maybe short cuts on how to get ready faster to be on time for the things I need to be on time for.

When I was ready, I rushed out the door and down the flight of stairs, said hi to the worker at the front desk and walked as fast as I could down the street in the heels I had on. You may be laughing at me right now. Like, "those aren't heels". But let me tell you, for me, they definitely are. I have never worn heels that high before and really they aren't that high at all, but for the first time wearing them, it was hard. I think I am starting to master walking in them, but it is very painful. I push through the pain, because I love those darn shoes!

Just look at them, though!

Best Shoes Ever!!

Just TOO Cute!!

Okay, now that you know how much I love these shoes, let me tell you about walking to the college. There are a few different ways to get to the college, but once I knew the way it only takes about 5 min to get there. The first time I walked there, it took about 15 min. I did not have any clue where I was going. That was only a month ago, but I look back and laugh at how I could not find my way to the college, because now it is part of my daily routine. While I was walking in my black dress and beautiful shoes without a jacket on, people would stare at me. I really don't know what to think when men and women of all ages stare at me while I am walking. I do know one thing, though, when I wear a dress more people stare. When I got to the college, I just put my head down and walked to my class. I did not want to know what my classmates were thinking so I just kept to myself and left the room right after the class ended.

As I left the college I walked down the street a little to get my coffee from Pret. They have a coffee pass for only about $20 every 30 days. Best thing I have ever purchased! If you don't know me, you should know. I LOVE COFFEE!!!! Oh and shoes! The shoes, I think you know by now. After Pret I had a little problem. I needed to get groceries, and did not have any other spring/summer clothing. Just the red dress.

So, I walked the long walk to the grocery store while people watched me, I tried my best to keep my head down. My feet on fire, I ignored it while walking into the Wholefoods Market. Did you know that the Wholefoods market is an Amazon type place and it is in person? Amazon isn't just all online. I found that to be really cool. I looked through all the bizarre foods and found myself in the beauty care area right by the nuts. Very weird, but very cool. Have you ever seen nuts in a shoot type thing? You can buy nuts per pound! I will definitely be going back just for the nuts!

I only encountered one worker, the cashier, and she was pretty rude. I did not know how to scan a code on my phone or how to pull it up and she did not like that I did not know what I was doing. That kinda upset me. Instead of letting it get me down, I looked at my outfit and gained confidence in my beautiful black outfit. So, I decided to continue my feeling good and go take a look at Barnes & Noble. I will have to go back another day when I am not carrying groceries, but it was really nice!

After looking around I headed back down the escalator, and the doorman wished me a good day. It was now time for my day in the outfit to come to an end while I walked back to my apartment. Well, I thought my day was over. One unique thing happened on my way back. There were a group of cops talking by their NYPD cars and when I walked by, I think they stopped their conversation in the middle. I know at least a few did. I didn't look up, but no one else was around me and I thought they were looking at me out of the corner of my eye. I wonder if they thought I was cute, a prostitute, or knew I was not from the city. I don't know, but if they thought I was cute, I kinda wish a young single cop would ask for my number. I like guys in uniform. lol ;)

When I got back to my apartment my "when in doubt, just wear black" fashion day came to a close. I don't always wear black, so I will be back to tell you about my next black fashion day! :)

trends
Like

About the Creator

Alicia Lenea

Hey guys, I am the small town girl that moved to NYC to follow her dreams to be a writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.