Styled logo

The Era

By: J.A.F_Jess.A.Fox

By Jessica A. FoxPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

She is a butch. Her style was so last year. I think she would prefer to be a man. Does she have a man yet? How can she keep a man? Some of the everyday things a woman in baggy clothing could hear. It is almost as if a woman wearing baggy clothing is equivalent to men wearing pants under their bum. If you did not know, here you go, a photo went viral online explaining why men started this style. Can you guess the reason? Do not quote me on this, but I would love to scientifically prove that the average person thinks about sex at least once or twice a day. So, what do you do when you are single? Outside of self-care, you mingle. According to that viral photo from an unknown source, men in prison who would be willing to have sexual relations with another male would wear the pants below their bum. In other words, every man walking around with his pants under his bum in the 20th century must be gay, right? They must be; it is not just a viral photo saying it. Trust me, do the research. A subjective, black, and white personality to fashion trends hinders a lot of the fashion. Why does a man have to be gay for wanting to advertise his bum? Why does a woman have to be a lesbian because she has clothing baggier than someone’s husband?

When speaking about humanity, I must say many of us judge based on appearance and less on the actual person. Imagine yourself on a first date, the person is fantastic inside and out, but they have a style that is not seen as a norm within society. What do you do? It is time to talk about this date to your girls, is the first mention going to be about him being an actual kind and genuine man or that he looked like a male coming out of a black and white film, and I do not mean one in a tuxedo but rather the working man look? That guy is terrific, RIGHT? Wrong, I am subjectively saying, the average response will likely be “his style is so why though but his mind, heart, and soul girrrrrrl….” Am I lying? Society’s influences on fashion enable many individuals to live a life of discomfort, as many may seek to please society and less the person in the mirror.

Let us flip the script now: a man goes out with a straight girl, beautiful like life inside and out, but she prefers wearing the same clothing as him. So, what is his next move? His friends ask him if he will go on a second date. I believe a person that does not seek outer before inner beauty would go on a second date, but men correct me if I am wrong; many others would say, “I do not want to date a girl that dresses like me; she is my woman, dress like a woman” right? This kind of mindset makes me wish I had a gene in a bottle or time machine: Wish one, make our entire culture of the 20th-century revert to the ’90s. As an adult, I want to live and be part of an era that allows a woman to wear baggy clothing and be called beautiful instead of a fruit cake, lesbian, or butch. So, please take me back: I would pay to have someone grant me a wish or get a time machine so I can return to a time where two identical twin women would be looked at the same even though one has baggy jeans, a long white t-shirt, and air forces ones, and the other a tight black dress.

women
Like

About the Creator

Jessica A. Fox

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.