Psyche logo

What Would You do if Your Kid was Diagnosed with Autism?

By EivieSpeaks

By CassiePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

As someone who has autism and has a family member with autism, I come across the question of what someone would do if they had a kid with autism, but nobody ever asks me. You would think as a person with experience with autism, I would be the first person anyone asks. I found everyone else's responses focus on the needs of themselves and not of the child, and though I understand it, I don't stand by it.

Autism is a neurological disability that affects the brains ability to mature at the same rate as their bodies suggest. It can vary from low functioning to high functioning on the sliding scale. A person with autism's brain development is stunted usually to a pre-school to elementary age. Symptoms usually consist of;

- Walking on tippy toes

- Repetitive sounds and words such as "baby talk"

- Tendency to make a messes

- Need for close or tight feeling on skin

- Ability to perceive emotions at a different capacity

- Enhanced emotions and sensory sensitivity

And more. If you need more information on symptoms of autism I recommend doing your own research or going to a doctor. I am not a medical professional but I do have extensive experience in this area and will do my best to cover what I can.

Not only do I have a little sister who has autism, I also have it myself which gives me a unique point of view. I not only get to view the world from a neuro-diverse view but I also have an opinion on having a family member with autism. I understand it is not easy to deal with the day to day symptoms of autism, but those children bring a new and amazing light to your life.

A child with autism, though has their difficulties, show you the little things you didn't think you would appreciate as much as you do. After moving out of my families house, I missed my sisters messes. She would play a scene from "The Big Comfy Couch", the quick clean up scene, and would create an insane mess. I have no idea why she did it, but as someone with autism I can understand that the mess is a comfort tool for the child to understand pieces of how the world works.

I saw a short film from Disney called "float". The writer of this film had written the film because he found out his child had autism and it showed the alienation that happens when you have autism or a family member with autism, except instead of a disability, his kid floats. Despite the looks and stares, it is still an amazing thing when you see the kid being special in their own way.

The question at hand has a few different answers and even more questions attached. When I think of this question, my mind immediately goes to what I would do if my partner was not accepting of the child. While I find others think of how the kid will affect their lives, I always think of how my life would impact my kid. I always felt it was a natural thing to want to watch your mini you grow into something amazing and to get your life together for the sake of the kid, in my opinion nothing else matters but I know that isn't everyone's case.

I know I would always protect and cherish every moment with the child, it could all be gone in an instant. What nobody thinks about is that these kids, whether they are diagnosed or not, are just kids. I saw as families broke apart because parents were too harsh or unaccepting. It broke down the people I love to as small as a particle.

The decision was made a long time ago that I wouldn't let another kid, with or without autism, be put in the same place that I or my partner was; I decided I walk out if there was any sign of harm to the child, because in the end they are what matters most. Even in a stressful life, I would know I would be happy and fulfilled knowing the child is happy, healthy, and okay. Anymore questions? You know what to do- XOX Eivie

family
Like

About the Creator

Cassie

20y/o from Cambridge, ON

Educating on controversial topics and living on adrenalin to get there

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.