Psyche logo

What Does a Narcissist do When They Catch You Cheating?

It's not worth it, but it will feed right into their game

By Chris FreylerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by sept commercial on Unsplash

There's never a reason to cheat on someone. If you can cheat and you're with a Narcissist, you have the power to leave them simultaneously. Or maybe they aren't a Narcissist and just an asshole?

I'll never understand "I cheated because." Just fucking break up already, then go fuck who you want. Narcissist or not, nothing justifies betrayal like that, NOTHING. You damage more than you know. If you are a decent human with morals, it should hurt you more than the betrayed.

If you say you can't leave, that's bullshit too. Where there's a will, there's away. Yea, it will feel like hell, but then you sit with yourself and don't go around hurting people when you know you have unhealed shit. It's what my ex does; it's upsetting. I know she knows she fucked up, but she hops person to person without a care in the world. Leaving a trail of lies and deceit. That's her, and she isn't changing.

I put up with the most horrific forms of cheating and blatant lies. I can still have a "physical" reaction in my body if I think about it too much. It's horrible.

I tried to date and have relationships outside my toxic one when she would take off and block me. I couldn't do it. It didn't feel right because I still loved her. You won't find healthy jumping immediately from toxicity; that's a FACT. But people do it daily.

I loved her. And I definitely couldn't have cheated on her. It's sick shit, I know.

Just because you date an abuser doesn't make it right to abuse back. That makes "us" no better than "them." I know. I've laid some tongue-lashing verbal assaults on her. Did she deserve them? Possibly. Did it make me feel any better? At the moment, yea, it was gratifying. My CPTSD was in full force, true cut-throat shit. She hurt me, I wanted to hurt her, but in reality, I didn't.

That's the thing; afterward, it isn't worth it. I have a conscience. She doesn't. If she did, she wouldn't lie straight to my face while leading someone else on waiting for us to have another "fallout" so she could run to the new person. She's been 100% committed to me like I was her.

A Normal, YES NORMAL loving human doesn't do that. They are upfront and honest or committed to one person. And if they aren't, they tell the person to leave then do what they want. They don't string multiple people along, leaving a trail of destruction. Life doesn't work that way, but it does in the mind of a Narcissist.

If your relationship is so bad that you want to cheat, you can leave. If you don't want to leave but want to cheat? Well, you best check yourself. It takes two to tango. You have more issues than dating the narcissist.

Each of us brings our part of toxic in the relationship. It comes down to who is more aware of making a move and leaving or embracing one another and change.

Because a narcissist will play the game till death, I don't know about you, but when you play a game of love with someone with no empathy or a conscience, you're going to lose, period.

Do you have a conscience? If you do, why cheat?

Just leave already. Cheating won't make it any better.

And what happens if they see you cheating? Well, you just fed their victimhood congrats. They love that shit and don't give a care if you cheat. They have many on the burner waiting.

Next

personality disorder
Like

About the Creator

Chris Freyler

Mistake Maker Extraordinaire. Writing from a place I don’t understand at times. I write to help myself, in return hope it helps you. Just another Quora guy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.