Psyche logo

Two Weeks of Isolation in Lockdown in Sydney, Australia in Winter 2021.

Honest to goodness, what it is truly like.

By Justine CrowleyPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like
Two Weeks of Isolation in Lockdown in Sydney, Australia in Winter 2021.
Photo by Amin Hasani on Unsplash

I don't own any pets, yet I chose the first image, because this unexpected COVID-19 Lockdown on a remote island (in Sydney, Australia) separated from the rest of the world enabled me to hibernate, and to pause for a little bit; even though I still had plenty of work on in my business. There was a day early on in lockdown where I could not leave the home and exercise, as I worked 11 hours straight.

By Nubelson Fernandes on Unsplash

For sure, lockdowns are depressing, and I appreciate that not every one was (and still isn't) in the fortunate financial and emotional position I found myself in, heading into lockdown and self isolation from 6pm on Saturday the 26th of June 2021. In saying that, there were times where I was feeling low, and I wrote my heart out on this site for therapy reasons only (my last nine articles, including this one.)

The delta strain of the COVID-19 pandemic began to grow, where virtually nearly single Sydney suburb was classed as a COVID-19 hotspot. Stay at home orders were announced for four key areas in Sydney, where they started their lockdown the night before (that is, the 25th of June), and not long thereafter, all of Greater Sydney went into lockdown for two full weeks.

By Lisa Luminaire on Unsplash

The lockdown started at 6pm on Saturday the 26th of June 2021, the day before my partners Birthday. I was fortunate to take him out to dinner the night before, and we have been missing each other so much. I took the morning to enjoy a cappuccino in a ceramic cup (ah, the simple things) and go grocery shopping, before anyone else would even care to panic buy, even though I never sweat over food or toilet paper. I also had a chance to clean out my home, and started to engage in some yoga at home.

By Carl Barcelo on Unsplash

The fireworks went off at 9pm that night, and my area was excited beyond belief for them, without an audience otherwise. My neighbourhood were cheering from their apartment balconies. It was weird beyond measure, but short notice.

I adapted to lockdown quite quickly, and was busy working away. Prosperity was (and still is) enjoyed in my business. I also caught up with friends and neighbours via zoom, phone chats and text, as well as my family. My elderly uncle was complaining that he was under a lot of pain, yet is naturally lonely being in an aged care home, and I am unable to see him. Speaking via the telephone is the next best thing. I had to urgently organise an ultrasound to be conducted in his room. Not fun at all.

By Road Trip with Raj on Unsplash

The first week and a half passes, and everything is fine. I am enjoying the lockdown. I receive some unexpected extra work in my business, and I am shortlisted for a temporary Government position, where engaging in a typing test on a laptop is not ideal, yet I went ahead with that plan. Going out and exercising, and enjoying some take away treats gave me (and continues to give me) something to look forward to, and enjoying time in nature and parklands with fresh air. This COVID-19 lockdown (the second one I personally have experienced) appears (on the surface) to be less stressful, with more businesses allowed to remain open, and there is a sense of familiarity, in addition to being in the right career this time round. It sucked that all I could do on Sunday the 4th of July, was to wish my foster dad a Happy Birthday via phone and text message, instead of celebrating it with him.

Even though I was fine, there were other people around me that weren't. One of my close friends had just received her second shot of the COVID-19 vaccine, yet is still privy to the same stay at home restrictions as those who are not fully vaccinated, or unvaccinated as yet. A close neighbour of mine was in tears, as she had to unpack three years of bullying rom her direct report at a job she has been stood down in for a while, while WorkCover investigations were taking place. It was a shame I could not hug her in a time of need.

By Maxime on Unsplash

Heck, we couldn't even do the above (as per the above image) with or without a face mask.

Face masks have to be worn in the apartment corridor, and in the elevators. Even going to the garbage room to dispose of rubbish, on the other end of the hallway on the floor where my apartment is based. Weird times indeed.

In saying that, I began to feel low and depressed on Wednesday the 7th of July. I did not know it at the time, yet had set up an appointment to see a counsellor the next day. I was depressed again, even though I manage to keep anxiety at bay again for now. Two days prior, the winter chill became intense beyond measure, where layers of clothing and blankets, together with the heater turned on still made me feel like I was living with the penguins in Antarctica. Unheard of for Sydney, Australia - that's for sure.

By Simon Berger on Unsplash

Back to the turning point on the 7th of July. I was a rebel, and I did not give two hoots about wearing a face mask in indoor public settings. I was at my wits end, and only for a couple of days. Lucky the police weren't around, and the newly found dob each other in culture did not affect me. I had another busy and prosperous day in my business, working eight hours of overtime, covering for a couple of other freelance UX Designers (we are all good at returning favours) in times of need, particularly when their Internet connection goes down at the wrong possible time, while a file of TikTok videos for analysis arrives 24 hours late. No ones fault. I had to step up, despite being fairly new to working in IT as well.

Working another 11 hours in my dream job was great, only to be followed by a migraine like headache, where consumption of the strongest pain killers failed to do their job properly, and only to then receive some bad news: the lovely tenants in my investment property in Sydney are giving their one months notice to vacate, all in the middle of a lockdown. The timing could not be worse, despite expecting this to happen as a property owner from time to time. Even though I am well off financially, I started to worry about money, and no way do I want to work for anyone else right now; especially where face masks must be worn at work. To make matters worse that day, I ran out of food.

By Tierra Mallorca on Unsplash
By Boris Dunand on Unsplash

From there, I knew I needed some help, and luckily a therapist (an hours walk away, so to avoid catching the bus) came to the rescue. Luckily I was allowed to also leave home for mental health care, and spend a bit of time with her at her house. She told me that I was a bit depressed with what is going on, and assured me that I have never had problems with getting quality tenants in the past, and that I will quickly secure a new tenant in time. She also advised me that some of the neighbours in the area have suddenly become a bit nasty; one of the side effects of being in lockdown, while the incompetent strata managers are blaming them for the doors slamming in the building, even though it my tenants next door neighbours that are the true culprits there.

This therapist is also psychic, and this came up in the always accurate tarot card readings she has given me in the past. She also informed me that the prosperity will continue in my business, and that I will get the short term Government gig that will not interfere with my business; and I have the power to turn it down if I so choose to.

By Aishath Naj on Unsplash

Even though I am very happy in my new IT business, with the luxury of solely working from home; the therapist mentioned that I am still isolated. Other gems were discovered, and now I am no longer fearful about COVID-19, although I was informed that my fear around it was small, yet still harmless.

From there I felt much better, even though the newly placed COVID-19 restrictions are not nice. If you step one foot into any cafe or other public place, you have to wear a face mask and sign in. The control is really restrictive for everyone. Thankfully there are a few cafes in my area who are smart, and who have taken my coffee order outside on the footpath.

By Gabriella Clare Marino on Unsplash

It was only hours prior that my partner said that he is willing to bend the rules to come and see me, yet apparently I am allowed to see him on compassion grounds, so it will be nice to see another familiar face (and to not social distance) with my partner this weekend. We are both excited about that, due to missing each other in this lockdown so much.

Now I have my mojo back, with another week of lockdown to go, touch wood. The NSW Government have extended lockdown for another week. The prosperity in my work is continuing, as one of my IT clients (contract extended, with no end date) has given me a list of things to do for them the following Monday, and I am still a junior at what I do. Go figure.

By Elizeu Dias on Unsplash

This unexpected lockdown has been great, and then s**t, and now great again, despite my hands being stone cold as I put this article together. I do feel that many businesses are hurting, despite this lockdown being short yet intense. The two weeks in isolation has gone quick. Still not fun, but necessary. It will be nice to sit down in a cafe and enjoy a cup of joe in a ceramic cup again. Hopefully I only have to wait another week for that to happen. The list of tasks to do post lockdown is naturally growing. In the meantime a few tubs of ben & Jerry's pint ice creams; a few Krispy Kreme doughnuts, hot chips and coffee have also helped a lot.

By Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

advice
Like

About the Creator

Justine Crowley

Freelance Internet Moderator/UX Writer/UX Consulting Designer/Graphic Designer

http://smashwords.com/profile/view/JustineCrowley

linkedin.com/in/justinecrowley

Lives in Sydney, Australia. Loves life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.