Psyche logo

Looking After Your Mental Health During Social Distancing

Lack of contact with other people can be mentally challenging. Read on to find ways to keep yourself and your mind occupied.

By Reija SillanpaaPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
1

It is important to look after your mental health while distancing yourself from other people. Last year, I went through seven months of reduced contact with others whilst having cancer treatment. Read on for tried and tested ways to look after your mental health during Covid19 lockdown. 

Get dressed

This one might sound a bit strange, but seriously - get dressed! It can be very tempting to stay in your pyjamas all day every day when not going out, but it can depress you. At first, when I had to stay in most of the time during my cancer treatment, I would stay in pyjamas all day long. But then I realised it was bringing me down. That is when I started making the effort to get dressed every day. I also started going, first for a walk, then for a run, every morning. But more on exercise a little later. Getting dressed gave my day more purpose; it made me feel more ‘normal’. So, even if you all you are planning to do is binge watch your favourite TV series, I recommend you get out of those pyjamas. 

Gardening

Another thing that helped me keep busy and stay sane was my small balcony garden. Looking after the plants formed a part of my daily routine, a part that I really enjoyed. If you do not have a garden or a balcony, try getting some houseplants, or some herbs that are very easy to look after, and you can use them when cooking, too. Having plants around you brings a bit of nature to you when you cannot go out. I’m also not ashamed to admit that I talk to my plants - a lot. Of course, it doesn’t compare to talking to a real human being or even a pet, but strangely it can still feel like you are talking to someone. 

Get Creative in the Kitchen

Being at home gave me the perfect opportunity to cultivate my interest in cooking. I love eating - who doesn’t - but long working hours meant that most nights I had a quick ready meal or pasta with tuna and cheese. Not very exciting culinary life. Now that I had time in my hands, I was free to experiment in the kitchen. I would source a different recipe I hadn’t tried before for every dinner and I have even experimented with my own ideas (sometimes successfully, others not so successfully). 

Recently I started using Gousto and am so glad we did because otherwise getting food on the table would have been tricky. (I am not patient enough to queue outside the supermarket for hours.) I was never into these food boxes, but now I am a convert. It minimises waste because you get the exact amount of ingredients. It also means I don’t have to buy a whole jar of a seasoning that I might only use once. I have mentioned Gousto, but there are plenty of others to choose from. But whether you use a food delivery service or recipe books, try having fun in the kitchen. 

Start a new hobby (or rekindle an old one)

I have always loved writing and during my months of treatment writing really helped me to stay sane. There was a lot to process with my diagnosis and writing it all down helped to to deal with my feelings and fears. I started a blog but also got back to editing a book I wrote several years ago but never found the time to edit. I also started knitting and crocheting again. I love making things for myself to wear, and having something to do with my hands keeps me from frequent visits to the fridge and ending up looking like a beached whale. So think about what you have always wanted to try but never had the time - or something you used to love doing, but then life got in the way - and start now. Trust me, doing something you enjoy or learning something new, will make time pass a lot quicker and make you happier, too.  

Exercise

So important, even if it is a bit tricky if you are in full self-isolation and have no, or limited outside space like me. However, lack of space is only an excuse. As is lack of equipment. You do not need tons of space or equipment to get a good workout. For example, I’m a huge fan of Callanetics. It was developed by Callan Pinckney and really tones the body without any equipment at all. There are some workouts available on YouTube for those who would like to check it out.

Many of my friends are also fans of Joe Wicks’ workouts. Or there are a myriad of others available on YouTube, which are free, or you can sign up for a streamed class. Or get out for a walk, run or bike ride (at least while we are still allowed to). Getting some exercise is obviously important for your general fitness, but also for your mental health. Exercise releases chemicals like endorphins and serotonin that improve your mood. Regular exercise can reduce stress and symptoms of depression and anxiety. 

Switch off completely

Try to find some time every day to switch off. Meditation is one way to do this, but if meditation is not your cup of tea, I would recommend trying yoga nidra. Personally, I prefer yoga nidra as all the sessions are guided. This practice is also knows as yogic sleep and some say that an hour of yoga nidra is comparable to four hours of sleep. I’m a huge fan and it has helped me to sleep better at night, too. But, if neither of these appeal to you, find your own ways to switch off. Have a long, relaxing bath, read your favourite book, pray, take a nap, give yourself a facial; whatever helps you to switch off, try to do it every day. 

Don’t overindulge alcohol

It is very important to not overdo it with alcohol. It could be tempting to crack open the can or uncork that bottle of wine a lot earlier in the day than usual when you have nothing on the agenda. But try to resist the temptation. Alcohol is a depressant and overindulging will make you feel worse in the long run. If you feel tempted to have a drink, try one of the above instead. 

Talk to People

I have saved the most important to the end. You might not be able to see people in person but reach out to them on social media and on the phone. I have never been fond of video calls but now embrace them. When you can’t see others in person, seeing them on your phone or computer screen is second best. Seeing the person you are talking to brings them closer to you than just hearing their voice on the telephone. So, get talking. Reach out to your friends and family. Go through your contacts and try to speak to someone outside your own household every day. 

I hope you find my tested ways of looking after my mental health useful. 

If you enjoyed this article, follow me on Instagram @r_s_sillanpaa on updates on new articles coming up, including an article on Yoga Nidra. You might also be interested in reading my articles on popular yoga styles (especially if you fancy giving yoga ago whilst in isolation), how to boost your immune system and how sleep is beneficial for your physical and mental health. 

advice
1

About the Creator

Reija Sillanpaa

A wise person said, "Be your own audience". Therefore, I write fiction, poetry and about matters important and interesting to me. That said, I warmly welcome you into my audience.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.