Psyche logo

If You Are Dating a Covert Narcissist, I am sorry

There is a lesson to be had if you are aware

By Chris FreylerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Shahzin Shajid on Unsplash

You will want to believe every word, I mean, lie, out of their mouth. You will think you can save them. You will run friends and family off as you explain the insanity no one will understand but that of a mind dating one.

They will do the most horrific shit only to disguise them as mistakes and broken promises, never to do it again. If only you would believe them when they say they love and care about you!

Don't you remember? You are the only person they felt this way about. You are their true soulmate. They have been waiting for you their whole life! They have never met anyone like you. They feel at "home!"

The other men they run off, they mean nothing, and they know you are the one now. The slight missteps in their stories are nothing more than your paranoia. Why do you have to be so paranoid?

They reassure you that your thoughts aren't right. What you read on their social media and their text isn't what you think. Don't you know you are controlling, and you always blow everything out of proportion?

You need to get a fucking life! You are a needy, controlling, abusive asshole. They have every right to hang out with "friends" and not include you when they generally would. They are setting boundaries, finally! Their boundaries include gaslighting you into insanity and manipulating you for reacting to their abuse so they can play the victim.

Are we having fucking fun yet?? God damn right, it's just begun.

No one knows about "you" but them. They want to keep you a secret until you can prove your loyalty to their lies and delusion. Why can't you understand this? Your feelings, thoughts, insecurities, and dreams don't matter. Please believe their fantasy, and if you don't, there will be hell to pay. But you already know this.

You've become a shell of yourself. Maybe there were days, weeks, or months of you waiting for them to reach out and show you they finally cared. Each time you slowly gave up hope, you were ready to move on, BUT WAIT! They texted you! And their text came through because you don't have the balls to block this manipulative asshole, and you fell right back into their grips.

See, I know. What I write about is a heart-wrenching experience I can't break free from. I know it's the hardest thing in life to break from, but I keep going back. Why, you ask?

Because I can't face my demons, I'd instead let some asshole control my thoughts, actions, and life. All for the all mighty reasoning of I want to "help her." Well, she says she loves me, and I'm her "one," don't you know? People that say they love me lie, cheat and steal my soul.

She/they don't want fucking help! They are wired differently from most, and they are wired to destroy you, feeding their sickness. Most therapists don't treat it because they don't understand it. And if they do, they are crazier than the fucking narcissist to want to get involved with these assholes willingly.

I know you had no idea what you signed up for when you felt heaven dropped this godsend at your doorstep. Now you have the devil staring back at you, and you can't break free, right?

I don't have the answers, and I wish I did. No contact is what I hear. But the covert is most damaging to those that have empathy.

You will want to save them when their mission is to destroy you.

Evil wins here, and your empathy is the devil.

personality disorder
Like

About the Creator

Chris Freyler

Mistake Maker Extraordinaire. Writing from a place I don’t understand at times. I write to help myself, in return hope it helps you. Just another Quora guy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.