Psyche logo

He told me everything

Sometimes we get the opportunity to slay our dragons.

By Carrie PrincipePublished 2 years ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
1

With fear in his heart

that I wouldn’t believe him,

he revealed to me.

 -

He told me details,

things that are sexual and

I knew right away.

 -

He’s only seven,

and remembers the first time,

on his fourth birthday.

 -

“She bought tons of gifts,”

he went on to say to me,

“to keep it from you.”

  -

“Just me? Why not him?”

“She didn’t want you to know.”

He was courageous.

 -

I don’t mess around,

disgusting and illegal,

a violation.

 -

My ex got it too.

She didn’t care if he knew.

He won’t report it.

 -

With time and healing,

I broke the cycle for us.

It only takes one.

 -

I see the joy and

happiness coming back, too.

He hugs me so tight.

 -

The joy wasn’t there,

when dragons were breathing fire,

but they are slayed now.

 -

I will protect us

from the dragons of our past,

because that’s my job.

 -

Checking the rear view

isn’t something I plan to do,

they’re too small to see.

 - 

When I understand

what we have stormed together,

it makes me so proud.

 - 

He's my light and joy,

strength and determination,

my angel on earth.

 -

You have told me that

you are glad I am your mom.

I learned it from you.

family
1

About the Creator

Carrie Principe

I'm not a writer, I'm a thinker, and my life experiences, healing, and journey have given me a lot to think about.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.