Psyche logo

5 Simple Ways To Soothe A Panic Attack

Panic attacks shouldn't take over your life. Here are some ways I've found are helpful to soothe a panic attack from getting out of control.

By Alexandra PicernePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

This past week brought up something that I haven't experienced in a while: a panic attack. It felt like my entire body was on fire, I was short of breath, and I felt like I couldn't move or think. It had been a long time since I had a panic attack. Since it had been some time, I didn't really remember how to handle it. It was an experience that felt so foreign, yet so familiar. So what did I do? I dug up some old notes I luckily had on my phone and mustered up the energy I had left to try and come down from what I was feeling. It wasn't easy, but eventually it all worked out. I thought that since I'm sure I'm not the only person experiencing this right now (or ever), I'd share my 5 simple ways to soothe a panic attack that work for me. I hope they work for you, too.

Create a mantra

This may seem simple, but it's very important. Coming up with a mantra for when a panic attack comes on can help you move through the moment. It can be anything you want like "This too shall pass" or "This is all temporary". It's whatever works for you. Remember that this panic attack will move through you and end at some point.

Focus on deepening your breathing

When you can feel a shortness of breath, sit down and try to deepen your breathing. Trust me, I know it's not easy to do that, especially when you're having a panic attack, but it does work. Try doing a box breath, which is four counts inhale, four counts holding, and four counts exhale. Do this as many times as your need to in order to feel good and grounded again.

Ground yourself in reality

Now if you've read my blog, then you know I like to talk about getting grounded. What I mean about getting grounded in reality is to remind yourself about what is actually happening. A lot of the time my panic attacks rise when I start worrying about things that are out of my control or haven't even happened yet. I end up living in a fantasy land in my head that makes my nerves go wild. By reminding myself what is happening in my life in that moment, I can bring myself back down.

Point out your triggers

Sometimes I can get so wrapped up in what's going on that I'm not able to point out what set me off to have a panic attack in the first place. By understanding your triggers, you can either avoid or soothe yourself ahead of time. For instance, I used to have really bad panic attacks when people I felt uncomfortable around would be a family party. One time in particular, a person showed up and my whole body went hot, I couldn't breathe, and I started to shake. Because I hadn't been able to talk about my anxiety before, it was hard to explain to anyone what was happening with me. Now, looking back, I know that I could have prevented this by being open and honest and explain how this is a trigger.

Ride the wave

The biggest thing you need to remember when a panic attack is happening is that it's going to pass. The feelings will subside over time and you will be okay in the end. You need to ride the wave until it is over. It's not easy, but you'll get through it. Use the tools and remember your mantra. You'll get through it every time.

how to
1

About the Creator

Alexandra Picerne

Just trying to get it together while staying present, mindful, and having fun along the way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.