Proof logo

New Yorker Deli sub and Merlot wine are the best combination

A delicious meal washed down by fine wine is always in order.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
New Yorker Sub and Merlot wine

I first ate a submarine sandwich from The New Yorker deli and restaurant in 2000. My mother in law began stopping there each Sunday after church and I fell in love with their original sub. It’s a foot long and filled with deli meats which are kosher ham, bologna and salomi. They also add red and green peppers, onions, and lots of cole slaw. There is also cheese which I believe to be provolone. All of this comes enclosed in a delicious whole wheat bun. It’s cut in half and two slices of pickle are added on the side. While my husband and others can eat the entire sub in one sitting, I must cut mine and make four servings.

A submarine this size is just great for those who don't want to cook three meals a day. By cutting it into four servings, I have lunch and two days in a row. Sometimes I may eat the sub for breakfast. Since The New Yorker is a local deli, you can find the sub of your choice in your neck of the woods and do the same thing. I began taking notice that the New Yorker had containers with four wine coolers for sale above the meat counter and I purchased some a few times to go with my sub. One day about four or five years ago, I had a New Yorker sub but did not buy any wine coolers. I had some Merlot wine on hand and decided to try this with my sub. I was hooked on this combination after the first taste.

Merlot grapes

I find that even while eating at home, the Merlot and sub combination gives me the feeling of eating out. I can relax right in my own house and enjoy a good and nutritious meal. I enjoy this combo while watching my favorite old school classics on TCM. The New Yorker sub is pretty high in calories with about 1200 in each one. By eating the sub in 4 sections I cut down on the number of calories in each meal. The good news is that this submarine sandwich incorporates the four main food groups of meat, vegetables, fruit, dairy and bread. This is one way to obtain the nutritional value without having to eat a four-course meal. You can get each of the servings in one sandwich.

If you are not a stickler for expensive wines, you can find bottles of Merlot at the grocery store for as low as $5.99. I once caught a sale at a local convenience store where they were selling it two bottles for five dollars. The brand you choose will be based on your personal taste and spending habits. I personally have not found a distinctive difference in taste between brands. Merlot is a dark blue–colored grape that is used for a variety of wines as well as a blending grape. . The name Merlot is thought to be a diminutive of merle, which is the French name for the blackbird. Merlot is a popular grape for blending because it ripens earlier than other grapes.

Merlot is one of several of the primary grapes that are used in making Bordeaux wine. It is also the most widely planted grape in the regions where Bordeaux wine is produced. Merlot also happens to be one of the most popular red wine varieties in many locations. As of 2004, Merlot was estimated to be the third most grown variety of grapes around the world with 640,000 acres globally. Merlot has about 120 calories per glass. According to the website Cookist.com, Merlot wine has six distinctive benefits which are:

1. Prevention of inflammation.

2. Reducing LDL, (bad) cholesterol levels.

3. Boosting gut health.

4. Helpings to prevent bloating, constipation, and cramps.

5. Decreasing the risk of chronic diseases.

6. Protection against degenerative disease.

I have determined that if I am going to enjoy good food and drink, that I find out all the healthy benefits they have to offer.

Please keep in mind that the recommended serving of wine is one glass per day. if you are prone to alcoholism then please do not indulge. It's also important to remember not to drink and drive. After all of these considerations, please do enjoy the sub of your choice with a glass of Merlot wine.

wine
2

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.