Potent logo

CBD Oil Cured My Anxiety and My Insomnia

#Potent

By Nancy DPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

Weed is legal in Canada now! Yay! So I finally decided to buy my first bottle of CBD oil; mind you, my oil had .25mg of THC in it... however, I don't feel like I notice it at all. Probably because it's such a small amount.

What is CBD?

"CBD increases the presence of our own naturally occurring cannabinoids. Cannabinoids are chemical compounds that are produced naturally in our bodies and in some plants; they’re called endocannabinoids in humans and phytocannabinoids in plants."—Ontario Cannabis

CBD isn't the same as THC

  • Unlike THC, CBD does not give you a high. It is non-psychoactive.
  • CBD encourages the release of the body's endocannabinoids.
  • CBD does not have to be smoked, it's usual taken as an oil or in a pill.

Technically, both THC and CBD are natural products. However, unlike THC, CBD isn't considered a chemical. Especially when buying it from a trusted supplier, weed is a plant that has been naturally grown. This allows many people to feel more safe and comfy when using it.

Years of Anxiety and Years of Being Nocturnal [My Story]

I have had terrible anxiety for years, which appears to have distorted my memories in high school. In other words, I remember acting like an idiot a lot and being way more embarrassed than I needed to... meanwhile, there were actually a lot of good memories that I could have been looking back on instead.

Worse yet, I have always had a huge problem trying to keep my sleep schedule normal... every night I would stay up later and every day I would sleep in more. No, I wasn't up all night playing video games... most nights. However, trying to "go to sleep earlier" and "simply wake up earlier" had no effect on me. I had a serious problem.

It Cured My Insomnia!

The first time I tried the CBD oil, it was about four in the afternoon; next thing I know I'm so tired I go to my room for "just a nap" and wake up at about 2 AM... I did manage to fall back asleep that night, but at least now I know not to take it so early in the day. Now I know only to take it when I am about to go to sleep, and as I'm sure you already guessed from the titles, it cured my insomnia.

I have to admit... I know some people can't stand the idea of weed as medicine because of all the negative stereotypes and horror stories. However, you don't have to take any THC at all; there are oils that just have CBD in it. It certainly still tastes like weed, but it doesn't give you any high whatsoever. If you are running out of treatments and nothing seems to help, why not try CBD oil? You deserve to be happy... and this just might be what you have been looking for all along.

I don't know why I waited so long to try it!

CBD oil is easy to get if you ask your doctor for it, and I certainly tried all other kinds of medicine for my anxiety before. More importantly, you don't even need a doctor anymore in Canada... I just hop on the website of my province's supplier and order it online. The prices are reasonable and the shipping is cheap.

I Love that I Can Take It Every Day!

My doctor has given all kinds of medications in the past in a desperate attempt to control my anxiety, but the problem was that almost none of them were something that I could take every day. To be fair, some of them were dangerous and other were just plain addictive... so I can understand why I wasn't suppose to take them every day. What I love about CBD oil is that I can take it every day. Even when I haven't taken it recently, I feel more mellowed out. Not to mention, at only $21 Canadian per 30ml bottle, I really see no reason not to take something that has been helping me so much.

Hello. Nice to meet you! How are you? Hmm... this feels like a really one-sided conversation... why don't you follow me on social media so I can get to know you too!

Please Be Careful While Trying Canada's New Legal Drug

While marijuana has a bad reputation that it doesn't deserve and it overall more safe that alcohol, it is not without it's own warning labels.

"Marijuana use in adolescence significantly increases the risk for eventually becoming psychotic and/or developing schizophrenia. This risk is even greater for people who had psychiatric symptoms before their first experience with marijuana and those with schizophrenia in their families."—J. Wesley Boyd M.D., Ph.D.

"People respond to marijuana in different ways. In some people, the drug can cause anxiety. In others, it might produce feelings of contentment or drowsiness. When used chronically, cannabis may cause delusions."

Like the story? Share it!

Thank you for reading my article. Would it be okay if I ask another favour though? Would it be okay if you share this on your Facebook page or Twitter? If you can't share, there is a tiny little donate box at the bottom too. No pressure though, just thought I would mention.

Work Cited

“7 Benefits and Uses of CBD Oil (Plus Side Effects).” Healthline, Healthline Media, www.healthline.com/nutrition/cbd-oil-benefits.

Bradford, Alina. “What Is THC?” LiveScience, Purch, 18 May 2017, www.livescience.com/24553-what-is-thc.html.

Clark, Kimberly. “What Is CBD?” Ontario Cannabis Store, ocs.ca/blogs/cannabis-anatomy/cbd.

“Marijuana Is All Natural, so What's the Problem?” Psychology Today, Sussex Publishers, www.psychologytoday.com/ca/blog/almost-addicted/201301/marijuana-is-all-natural-so-what-s-the-problem.

“What Kind of Drug Is Marijuana?” Drug Rehab, www.drugrehab.com/addiction/drugs/marijuana/what-kind-of-drug-is-marijuana/.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Nancy D

Facebook @NancyDBlogging

Twitter @BlogsNancy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.