Poets logo

Your Left Shoulder is Burned into the Corner of My TV Screen

by Caroline Stanley

By Caroline StanleyPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

When you told me you were tired of sitting in the same chairs every day

I agreed, so we switched chairs.

When you told me you were busy and stressed

I agreed, so I let you stop caring about me.

When you told me you didn’t want me in your life anymore

You were lying, because you called me a week later.

When you told me you never felt like you could show emotion in front of your dad

It was the most you ever said to me.

And I wanted to cry and jump up and down and hold you,

But I thought it more appropriate to squeeze your hand.

When you told me you cared about me I asked you to prove it

And you didn’t.

When you told me you were trying

I believed you until the next time.

When you told me you were growing out your beard I started to panic,

because every hard conversation starts with a discussion of facial hair.

When you told me to give it some time, we were wallowing in the grayish glow

of a paused movie and everything smelled like red curry.

It was dark enough for me to be bold, and I told you

Fuck that I love you

and I don’t care that you don’t love me back.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.