Poets logo

Your Heart

The Ending of an Ending

By Poppy Published about a year ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
4
Your Heart
Photo by Ed Robertson on Unsplash

Their sunlight is golden

Like the ichor of gods

My skin is stained red

Darling won’t you wipe this blood away?

There’s ballads and words carved in stone

Their lies are sweet enough to be my poison

Darling her love is only a loan

I wish you’d give yours to me

How could she hold your heart

And crave another’s hands?

I’d rather feel your love

Than the moon and the stars

You gift her bouquets

She hands you heartlessness

But isn’t that all you gave me?

They call you endgame

I call us a world ending

You mumble my name because

What else is there to say to me?

I’m sorry I love her is too heavy

To carry on my own

You, and her smile is

Something of an eclipse

And all I can do is wish and wish

But you’re not a shooting star

You’re just my dying breaths

Another apocalypse

The world is in flames

My skin is scorched not bleeding

You’re reaching for her, I’m dying for you

Is this all love really is?

Is this all I really am?

The ending of an ending?

The death of a dying thing?

You held my heart and craved her hands

I held the sky and craved your heart

Is this what we’re doomed to be?

A dying tragedy?

If you enjoyed this, please read more like it:

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
4

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock5 months ago

    Unrequited love, it's all there ever seems to be.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.