Poets logo

You've Got This

Healing Trauma- Letting Go

By Amanda OlejniczakPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
You've Got This
Photo by Jonas Jacobsson on Unsplash

“Sit back and let the shit show unfold

Except, this time I think I’m the main act

Maybe I always have been”

Is the beginning of a poem I never finished

Because although it felt right in the moment

Didn’t hit viscerally as my truth

Truth is weird like that

In 2010 I’d step into high-school for the first time ready to reunite with friends

And instead, soon find myself completely isolated

My world became so small, writing shitty poetry was my only escape

A new passion, tainted with trauma

I still have every poem I’ve ever written since 16

But I can’t bear to look through them again

That sick and sad child- yes child- I was under the age of 18, don’t argue with me- seems to be from another lifetime

Sometimes that’s just how I cope with the facts

By far the most difficult time of my life was when the abuse was taking place from both of them

The year 2021 takes a close second

It was then that I decided it was time to live in my truth

My mother would show her true self to me and I would gain my freedom

Freedom is funny though, it doesn’t dismiss the past, or at least it shouldn’t, so here I sit with a document

Times New Roman 12 Pt. font, single spaced

Chronological order

4 and a half pages of everything he did to me

Depending on the second, when you ask me who my abuser was, I might not answer the same

My dad, no, my mother

My step father, I mean high-school counselor

All had a role, so who’s to blame, I just know it’s not me

“Losing Her Saved Me” - An essay I wrote to be published to the world

But she’s not the only thing I lost; my mom is not the only thing I lost that saved me

But I think the show is over now

And maybe that means I can start to let go

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Olejniczak

I am a writer, poet, and proud advocate for mental health. Addtional content I create can be found on Instagram: @amanda_unfiltered or @amanda_unfiltered_poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.