Poets logo

You Told Me

It Hurts

By Hailey KokkePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

You told me I’m beautiful.

You told me you love me.

You told me you won’t leave.

You told me I’m the only one.

I wish that was true, but you just proved it's never true.

You hurt me more than anyone.

I thought I was beautiful,

but you only said it to my face,

behind my back its always ugly

I thought "I love you" meant more than "I don’t know what to say"

I said I love you and I meant it,

you said I love you just to say something.

I thought "I won't leave you" meant "I will always be here"

I said I won't leave and meant it,

you said "I won't leave" because you knew I trusted you.

I thought "your the only one" meant no one else would interest you.

I said "you're the only one" and meant won't love another soul,

you said "your the only one" and meant "right now."

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Hailey Kokke

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.