Poets logo

You Should Eat

Sizes and shapes vary in uniqueness

By 𝒟𝒶𝒾𝓈𝒽𝒶 𝒲.Published 2 years ago 1 min read
4
Photo by Hannah Xu

You should eat

Your bones are showing

You look a little weak

Let me feed you some meat

Boney, underweight, anorexic

These are the words that they would repeat

In those moments I wanted to say that’s it

Because the ones who spoke the most were unfit

All the words that made me feel weak and sick

Were the same aching pains that threw me in a pit

You should eat

I could snap you in half with my hands because you’re so petite

A stinger from people who

couldn’t even lift a finger

You’re so delicate I could break you

Another statement that was untrue

So I outgrew the old and brought in something new

You should eat

But if I gained weight, I’d be told to eat less

Therefore, I no longer stress because I am blessed

To not be a part of other people’s delusional mess

Because they can't address the areas, they’re feeling depressed

Now that sounds like one big wreck

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

𝒟𝒶𝒾𝓈𝒽𝒶 𝒲.

A rambling Curious George who just doesn’t stop writing, doesn’t stop thinking, and never stops exploring.

Feel free to tag along in my pursuit of wonders. 🪐🎨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mabout a year ago

    Good poem. Relate.

  • Kylara2 years ago

    Great peom!❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.