Poets logo

You Light Me Up

A Poem

By Mihaela VasilevaPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I wander in the dark

Night by night.

I must've gone blind.

It should be easy to stop

but I keep going

in search of the

real.

Real you?

Real me?

Real us?

Can that evcn exist?

I wish I knew.

You were to help me find the answers

but instead I fall prey

to your complications.

We were supposed to arrange the pieces

but instead we mixed them all

in this box of mystery.

I was to figure out the calculations

was to undertsand the inner workings of your mind

was to figure out why you did the things you did

and said the things that I knew you truly didn't mean.

As much as this hurts

I can't help but adore the blaze you set in me.

The light you give me is too bright to be ignored.

I, like a moth,

float to it.

By instinct almost.

By the assertion of my love.

By the devotion I am willing to give you.

But you have not yet returned.

And until then,

I shall wait in the dark.

I don't want to,

but I can't help but feel sorry for the

heart that decided to

make steps before I did.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Mihaela Vasileva

I write based on heart. I love based on thought. I think based on truth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.