Poets logo

You know what's rare?

I'll tell you...

By Heather HublerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
24
Created with CanvaPro

You know what's rare?

One day, just one day that I don't have the terrible selfishness of humanity shoved in my face.

Unbelievable people stuck in their own worlds

Constantly abusing those around them with their

Actions and words, all in the name of freedom.

Noooo...Please stop in the middle of the aisle to check your phone and ignore everyone around you, or

Fly up my ass on a backroad going 20 miles over the speed limit. I don't want to bear witness to another

Unhappy shopper using ugly language to berate someone that makes less than minimum wage

Cuz they want to return something they no longer have a receipt for, simply because they can.

Kindness has turned into a party trick only pulled out for the

Right people at school bake sales and posted to

Instagram stories to put on a fake show.

Givers that only give bullshit.

Haters that bleat like sheep, swallowing rhetoric without

Thinking for themselves or doing the legwork to understand.

One day, just one day I'd like to not be concerned

For the human race as a whole,

For fuck's sake!

____________________________________________________

If you weren't on board for my rant, not much I can do about that really, but I can thank you for reading. So, thank you!

Here's a less cranky piece :) It's actually pretty fun!

social commentaryslam poetry
24

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • Thavien Yliasterabout a year ago

    I hate it when people act stupidly, especially making the lives of others worse. Though, I will admit I have done at least one of the things on this list.

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Slam the brakes! Shear the sheep! Slap the phone! The day of reckoning is coming for these short sighted selfish suckers. Tell it, Heather 🥰

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    I agree. I am one of those people that actually speaks up to people being ridiculously rude. Unfortunately we will never be rid of rudeness... But we can try one person at a time.

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    Yeah Damnit! This got me raring to go this morning! AWESOME!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Oof why is this all so true?? 🤷🏼‍♀️🤣. Loved it! ❤️

  • Hannah Mooreabout a year ago

    I hear you AND I want to read the counterpoint.

  • Aphoticabout a year ago

    I fricken love this. I only wish it wasn’t so accurate😔

  • Dean F. Hardyabout a year ago

    I love a good rant

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    YES!! 💕

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    🤣🤣🤣 FFS! This poem needs to win!!!! @vocal 🤣 Love it.

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    I find it unfortunate that on this platform there is as much selfishness, and not much supportiveness for one another. People are leaving in dramatic numbers, disillusioned and unhappy. The focus is on specific and not the overall. I get it. We all need to build our own little groups and find our own way. It makes me a little sad. But that is just me. Still, I love to write, so I do it for me. People kinda sucks these days. Still .........

  • Harmony Kentabout a year ago

    ‘Put on a fake show’ … absolutely! I connected with this wholeheartedly, Heather 💕🙂

  • This is sadly true. This Millenium we have seen a creeping return of entitlement and spitefulness exacerbated and encouraged by the reach of social media. Excellent work.

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    That was a fun read

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    This was absolutely awesome!! So much love for you! This spoke volumes 💕

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    It's okay...You said a lot of what we are all thinking about on a daily basis. Sometimes you just have to let it out. I loved the follow up about checking out this "Less cranky piece." lol. Hearted.

  • Omggg, this is soooo true! Humanity and kindness is so hard to come by these days. Loved your poem!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Very relatable!!! Loving it!!!

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    Truth! Preeeeeeach! Yay Heather!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    You had me at stopping in the middle of the aisle lol. Well done ♥️ Looking for that rare day 😊

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    I love this! I envy your rawness. You speak some incredible truths here. I think many of us have these same thoughts, thank you for writing them down! I really love the way you crafted this. :) Bravo!!

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Damn. Well said! Bravo! I like the crankiness! Well put and lovely acrostic work! Do I hear the pitter-patter of Top...Story?

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Omg!! This is fantastic! Absolutely nailed it, my friend.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.