Poets logo

You in the Night

Dawn path

By Amy ChristiePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I try to hear your voice

one time,

just once,

I cannot steer the sails

without the sound I love

and used to search

on window sill

deep in the night

in each sunray that came to greet

outstretched denial.

***

You don't look on

or back,

don't know me anymore,

the memories we've lived

don't dare to come outside tonight

can't look to new sunrise,

new light will burn spirit

to ash,

the way is closed,

into our home,

no key will unlock door,

no garden waits

beyond the ivy walls.

***

At peace, at rest,

journey ends on this bridge

I meant to find us once again,

I lost,

I fell,

and I met me,

to make my own path

and meet flowers.

***

A stranger from now on,

what you gave stays,

grace lasted for one second

and a wish,

love goes on after night

with dawn, I smile again,

not sharing soul

not beckoning to you,

I make this light,

I dream,

I let scarf

fly again.

***

If this dream or the next

come true,

if my wish meets ghost

on the way,

I fear no harsh wind,

no storm

can undo what I lived

and loved.

***

Your path goes in the clouds

I cannot reach you now,

if you remember me,

whisper to wind

breeze will tell colors

and forgive.

***

Forgetting all the hurt

and swords,

I take thunder as friend,

specter can't stop my steps,

regrets won't turn

happy tears to scorn

loving embrace to hate,

no, I adore,

beloved soul,

as you once were

you stay,

your memory I cherish

what you gave me

I have,

I keep.

***

I did not love your darkness,

I fell in love with a wild spirit

with every fall,

it wished,

with every storm,

it gleamed.

In glowing on my own,

I honor you

and me,

I keep us happy

at the dawn.

***

© 2022 Amy Christie

Photo credit: Pexels

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Amy Christie

Passionate writer and journalist, striving to create meaningful connections.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.