Poets logo

You hurt me the most...When I said No

My Story, My Poem - I Am A Sexual Assault Survivor

By Chantelle WyntaPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Top Story - January 2020
38
Based on real life events

Readers discretion please be advised - This poem's nature and language might cause upset or trigger.

It was me

You hurt the most

It is me,

Who questions if I am beautiful enough

It was me,

You unlawfully touched

It is me ,

Who feels as a broken piece of art

It was my body and soul,

Wrongfully violated.

I trusted you ,

Welcomed you into our humble home

Young ,

Innocent,

You were supposed to be my brother,

My relative ,

My friend ,

By the dead of the dawn you downgraded yourself,

From a friend to a foe ,

Stranger to danger,

How do I get scars to fade away?

When I’m travelling in circles to rewrite my life.

How do you sleep comfortably?

Since the age of 16, I have been waking up in Jurassic Park

Full of dinosaurs and old memories ,

My body still remembers the nightmare everyday,

Like dried lemons squeezed on fresh wounds .

The taste of love has become sour ,

Not every man can be trusted ,

A simple of touch or kiss ,

Sends Romeo back to Pluto,

Flashbacks plummet every romantic planet ,

The gate of love is slammed in my face ,

I find it hard to love , struggle to give my heart to a man that adores me.

Your deception still hangs on my corridor ,

This nightmare has no happy ending ,

Only the walls can't lie ,

Not a single soul has any idea why the smile on my face is fake.

The memory remains unforgettable,

Tears turn into dust,

Mama told me ,

Legendary Queens don’t cry .

The sands of time will bless you with forgiveness,

When I am ready to learn how to fly again,

The faint lines of my heart ,

Misses a beat,

When I remind myself ,

I am a woman ,

I am a Queen ,

I am a survivor,

Justice will be served,

As I take the first step towards the rainbows of epiphany,

My story, is my crown ,

I am a survivor ,

Surviving you ,

Surviving the assault,

I will survive.

#truestory #poem #poetry #sexual assault survivor #rape #violenceagainstwomen

inspirational
38

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.