Poets logo

You don't call anymore and I have nothing to say

Written by Abel Johnson Thundil

By Abel Johnson ThundilPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
You don't call anymore and I have nothing to say
Photo by Noah Silliman on Unsplash

You don’t call anymore,

And I have nothing to say.

A fly sits on the apple with brown spots.

I wave it off and eat it.

A blot of pigeon poop on the chair.

I scratch it off and sit on it,

Waiting for you to walk down the road;

Waiting for you to wave.

But you don’t come.

You don’t call anymore,

And I have nothing to say.

Tops spin to a stop,

And helium balloons never return,

A cat with a broken leg fails to jump the fence;

And it waits there crying

To be with the others cats.

You don’t call anymore,

And I have nothing to say.

But when I sit on the chair,

I hope you'll come.

When I eat the stale apple,

I hope you feel my pain.

And when I can’t jump the fence,

I assume you’re on the other side

Waiting

For me to heal.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.