Poets logo

You Called It Love

an original poem by Jason White

By Jason WhitePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
You Called It Love
Photo by Christopher Campbell on Unsplash

You called it love

I don't think it was

But maybe I am wrong

Maybe I was just overreacting

To the games you played

To the names you sprayed

Like the bullets from a gun

Maybe when I walked away

I should have stayed

Because, maybe,

I got all that I deserved

Perhaps you were

The best I'd ever get

I know now that

Without you I am nothing

Yet

Here I am surviving

Thriving

It is you who longingly looks

Into your mirror

Crying out your wish

Where I am still there

By your side

Completing your life.

A warm heart to hold you tight

Making you feel right

But that's not reality

So I guess

I'll just keep going my way

And you can stay

Stuck within your fantasy

The one where

Everything was perfect

And you couldn't do any wrong

I am tired of that old song

Swallow your own poison

Goodbye my love

Goodbye.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Jason White

Jason White is a father, a grandfather, knowledge seeker and sharer. Jason is the owner of Growth Positive Consulting where he puts his fundraising and management skills to great use. He is a writer, a woodworker, and a philanthropist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.