Poets logo

You and I, Kissing Under a Street Light in a Blizzard

Love in a Snowstorm

By HowlPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

The only sounds were the soft crunch of my footsteps and the gentle howl of a winter night. The snow fell around me, specks against the dark sky, like stars falling to Earth. It was just me, away from the world, in one of my own. A single streetlight lay near a dark grey bench. I sat down, the chilled air wrapping its frigid arms around me. My vision was obscured as a galaxy encompassed the night. I took a deep breath, enjoying the bitter air.

Then there was you.

The dark red scarf, wrapped around your neck. The red braided thread, holding up your black hair. Your hazel eyes, meeting mine as I look up. My breath stopped as I saw your smile. I sat in silence as the wind softly sang around us.

I quickly stood up, stuttering, my icy breath stammering. You smiled and we sat. You spoke, your voice as mellifluous as the night. I spoke quietly and nervously, fumbling with my cold hands, trying to charm you. Your laugh caught my surprise, halting my breath. We talked while the blinding snow painted the night. The concrete path and grassy park were gone, lost. It was just you and I, under a streetlight in a blizzard, in our own world.

We chatted passionately. My voice grew beyond stutters as you smiled. My hands calmed as you laughed. I couldn’t see anything but you, the bench, the streetlight. The wind reached its crescendo, pushing you towards me. You fell into my arms, trying to warm our icy breath and cold hands. We laughed and tossed our passionate voices back and forth. Your eyes met mine as you looked up, a smile across your face.

Our frozen lips met.

It was just you and I, kissing under a streetlight in a blizzard.

The Song This Is Based On

"You and I, Kissing Under a Streetlight in a Blizzard" - MOON GIRL (me)https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PU_RbeP2jyc

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Howl

Just a silly li'l guy from Kansas. :)

Linguist, language teacher, musician.

Check out my music and silly little videos: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCj7jWkxpIJymzSA4MG1_Esg

Insta: boyofyuzu

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.