Poets logo

You and I

The second in a series of three love poems

By Oliver JohnsonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
You and I
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Where you see worthlessness I see perfection

When you say you’re undeserving I see ‘well deserved’

Time is supposed to heal all wounds

But it doesn’t seem to work sometimes

That's why I’m here for you

If kissing wounds heals them, I’ll have some trouble

After all, I can’t kiss your heart soul or mind

I’ll kiss the rest though– your lips neck and forehead

Maybe if I kiss close enough it’ll help the healing

You often say you don’t deserve things

This isn’t just about what you deserve though

This is you and I– it’s what we both deserve

This is about you and I because we both need someone

To lean on, to hold, to be held by

We both know neither of us can deny it

That’s just the way it is

We both, though you more than I, have been hit by the world

But you and I have each other now

Making memories

That’s surely something that’s happened between us this fall

Reliving memories

The good and the bad– another hallmark of our falls

Fighting memories

Something we get to do together, you and I

Working together to heal and become better

Let’s not change that

Helping each other

Helping ourselves

Helping the other

You and I spinning a web

A web of support and care for one another

A beautiful web

You and I were meant to be

love poems
2

About the Creator

Oliver Johnson

I hope you enjoy some of my work.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.