Poets logo

You

The Man Who Sipped Honey Jack

By Clara Elizabeth Hamilton Orr BurnsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
4
You
Photo by Alexandra Luniel on Unsplash

You were cigarette smoke in a tiny living room,

While Son’s of Anarchy played in the background

And the single mattress on the floor became home.

You were late night walks in the bitter cold of winter,

While we talked endlessly about everything and nothing.

You were Lana Del Ray and illegally downloaded movies,

While our housemates argued over Skyrim

And drank vodka in their bedroom.

You were the first man I considered beautiful,

While we sipped disaronno

And I hustled you at Pool.

You were Honey Jack,

Straight,

With ice,

While Cradle of Filth blasted from the JukeBox.

You were grande coffees at Starbucks,

While you lied as easily as you drew breath

And I swallowed your honeyed words the way you swallowed Honey Jack.

You were full length leather jackets that I huddled under for warmth,

While you carefully prepared your mask to keep me falling in love.

You were poison,

Slow but deadly.

Like the cigarettes you taught me to roll.

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Clara Elizabeth Hamilton Orr Burns

"I was always an unusual girl

My mother told me that I had a chameleon soul

No moral compass pointing due north

No fixed personality...

...With a fire for every experience and an obsession for freedom"

-Lana Del Ray

Ride

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.