Poets logo

You

This is a short poem I wrote about my ex.

By Julia CordesPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

You have a smile that leaves me breathless similar to the first time I caught a glimpse of a sunset, because even though it signifies the end I still thought it was beautiful and when it finally fades it leaves me feeling empty just like the endless monochrome blue sky.

You are my favorite poetry, the happy poems that make me swell with joy, and the sad poems that make me shaky and leave me longing for words.

You are a ball of Christmas lights, the ones that I leave up in my bedroom all year round, the ones that I'll want to keep long after they go out because they once glowed so bright.

You are a candle, a flicker of light. I know I shouldn't get too close because I'll burn but that all too familiar sent wafts into my nose and way too quickly, you feel like home.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.